Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Errror Playing Civ 4 Please Help Dying To Play!!!!!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Errror Playing Civ 4 Please Help Dying To Play!!!!!!!

I have XP i have Civ4 1.61patch and everything else i need. I launch Civ4 and it loads but then this error comes up saying:

Initialize Renderer failed. Check DirectX Installation, Latest graphics Drivers and Graphics settings Parameters:
    -width = 1024
    -height = 768
    -flags = 0xc
    -hwnd = 0x210068
    -adaptrid = 0
    -deviceid = 3
    Error:Creation failed: Invalid 3d device type

I was told to install DirectX 9.0c which I did but the error still comes up. I believe someone had the same problem on this site but fixed it installing some Omega drivers or somthing which I have no clue about getting and what to do with them as I am new to this downloading, graphics and drivers stuff.

I am dying to play this game as i have heard its a brilliant game so i would be much appreciated of anyone who could help me out.

Cheers

It would probably help if you mentioned what some of your system specs are, in particular what kind of video card you're using. That was a message that used to be seen by a number of people that were using cards that weren't compatible with the game.

As for the Omega drivers, just do a search on Google. I just tried it and the link to where you get them is the first on the page. I'd include the link but you need to start doing those things like that for yourself.

Comment

Have you installed DirectX from the CD? If I recall correctly, it was a slightly different version than they had on the website for a long time.

Comment

I get this problem when I have the Catalyst video card driver installed. My card is a Radeon 9800.

I never received the error until I upgraded to Warlords and the most current patch which is 2.13.