Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your rush strategy

Hello!

I figured that everyone must have their own take on this, and I'm curious to see how you maintain your economy prior and after the rush. I play Marathon.

I personally don't rush very often since I find it to hamper my economy and I am a builder at heart and it just somehow tends to ruin my game if I don't get any of the early wonders I want (mainly Pyramids).

Now, there's one strategy that allows me to do this and rush, though. My favorite rush strategy on Monarch (my regular level) is the Incan Quechua rush where I send my first guy, the one I have from the get-go to hunt for my enemies. If he finds barbarian animals on the way then so be it, either he'll die and I'll cancel my "rush" or he'll get 2 experience and get cover. Usually the latter.

Now, by the time I reach the first AI it's usually around 3500-3000 BC and the AI's Archer usually has a slim chance of surviving the attack but from what I've seen, usually doesn't. So, I end up with a second capital spot quite early. So, now my Quechua has gained CRI and move on. The city can be left unattended since there's no-one who's going to take it that early. By the time it's 2500~BC I usually find the second civilization if there is one on my continent. Now, this AI will also have just one archer defending it's capital and will also fall since my Quechua is now +10 Str, +125% against Archers, +20% against city with a base strenght of 2. Again, this won't work if the city is on a hill but if it's not, then I have a good chance of succeeding.