Some religions founded too late?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some religions founded too late?

As I'm sure you noticed, the early religions tend to dominate the game since they are founded far earlier than the later religions.
    Usually, Buddhism, Hinduism and Judaism will be founded before 3000BC, while Confucianism tends to be founded in the BC period. So far, all good: these religions come early enough to be a significant force in the game, and they are not too far off the actual date they were founded in real life (Though I'm no expert).

The trouble comes with Taoism, Christianity and Islam. These typically get founded late in the game: Taoism and Christianity are often founded after 500AD, while Islam is often not founded until 1200 or 1300. Obviously, a human could beeline to them and grab them early, but if they don't, the AIs tend to found them very late. Not only are they founded far from their actual founding dates, but it also makes these religions less useful, since the early religions will have spread far and been widely adopted by then.

Now, the cause of this seems to be the placement of these late religion founding techs on the tech tree and the cost of these techs. Philosophy, for instance, costs a steep 1200 beakers, and you either have to approach through drama or Code of Laws. It's pretty difficult to easily grab this tech in the BC period unless you use the oracle or lightbulb it (which only human players tend to do), due to the huge tech cost.
    The same idea also applies to Theology and Divine Right- Divine Right costs 1500 beakers, making it a rather expensive tech for what it does.

So, possible solutions:

(1) allow Philosophy to be researched once you have Aesthetics, so you don't need to research through drama.

(2) Reduce Philosophy's tech cost. I'm not sure what cost would be good for game balance, so I'll offer 700 beakers as a base debating point.