National Wonder Timing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• National Wonder Timing

In addition to having National Wonder plans for your cities, is there a point of decreasing returns for National Wonders i.e. the later you build them the less "bang for buck". As a builder, I often delay building Herioc Epic for long periods. The Easter Island dudes have brought this strategy front and centre and have made me re-think National Wonders entirely. I am now really confused on when to build Maoi Statues. Is it as ASAP build or a max water tiles build with mininmal hills? Also, should you time Oxford before Scientific method, or doesn't it matter that much?

Cheers

ChopChop

It depends on the wonder, resource availability (I'll wait if it's a few turns until I hook up the marble) and the city I want to build it in but generally, once I know which city I'm building it in, as long as it has a granary and forge I'll start building the wonder.

I build the Heroic Epic in my "military city" which is mostly pumping out units constantly so, unless I'm struggling in a difficult war, it makes sense to build it early and so get the extra hammers earlier so they count for more.

All of the national wonders that I build every game help the civ a lot so geeting the maximum benefit from them is the thing to do. I'm not in such a rush to build the Hermitage, there are games when I even forget to build it... I also don't build the National Wonder straight away, I normally build it in my capital and at that early stage in the game it will be busy with more important projects like the Great Library.