• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worst 3 concepts in the history of gaming

In no particular order:

-Ganking
    -Grinding
    -Vassal States

Causing pain and grief for the player is a popular trend and firaxis can't stay behind the times.

What are the first 2?
    USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA!
    The video may avatar is from

Comment

What's wrong with Vassal States? Ever since I started playing Civ 2 when it first came out, I've wanted such a concept. The only thing I want as bad or more, is better diplomacy options.
      EViiiiiiL!!! - Mermaid Man

Comment

Bad thing about is it works more in favour of AI civilizations. Civ was fun because you had to avoid strong civs while slowly destroying weaklings in order to face the remaining civs once you were significantly powerful at last. That was my strategy and that journey was fun. Now every civ with a single city and their grandmother is a vassal of someone and every hostile action results in a world war. Yet when you accept someone else's vassalage you kinda ally with them in wartime and they can cancel the vassalage not I.

I'm sure some will explain it's historically accurate or engaging but for me it takes our more fun than it brings and I don't think I as the player gain anything in any vassalage situation. It's just a trick to get things significantly messed up and hard unexpectedly because human strategies almost always win otherwise.

In short I support it should cease to work like a "mutual protection pact" kind of factor. I doubt Civ IV would get such high review scores if it wasn't for awesome prequels and the critics weren't afraid of telling anything bad about it.

Comment

But you can switch off vassal states by creating a custom game. So if you don't like it, just switch it off.

And I also have no idea what "Ganking" and "Grinding" is.
          Only the most intelligent, handsome/beautiful denizens of apolyton may join the game :)

Comment