Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wonders not working when conquered?

Hi everybody.

I'm an Civ veteran, but quite a newbie with civ 4. so i'll have some questions in coming.
    First: When I conquer a city with world wonders in it, they have no more cultural or whatsoever output anymore! Why is that?
    Second: After conquering a city and after the x turns of revolt, the city has no cultural value anymore. It starts with a one square influence area again. This is anoying when it is bordered by another strong foreign city that nearly encloses my hardly won city with its cultural influence and keeps it from recovering. Is that normal or are there any tricks to avoid this.
    Third: Is it okay to let the builders (I play the german version so I don't now the englisch term) do their work automatically?
    Fourth: How can I decrease the cultural influence of another city? Without conquering it?

Thanx

Steve

First: When I conquer a city with world wonders in it, they have no more cultural or whatsoever output anymore! Why is that?
    Normally all buildings producing culture are destroyed when a city is taken. Basically when conquering you destroy all symbols of the old regime, meaning it's culture. Wonders are not destroyed but loose their culture production aspect.
    Second: After conquering a city and after the x turns of revolt, the city has no cultural value anymore. It starts with a one square influence area again. This is annoying when it is bordered by another strong foreign city that nearly encloses my hardly won city with its cultural influence and keeps it from recovering. Is that normal or are there any tricks to avoid this.
    The culture stays but is a foreign culture so doesn't push your borders. If the old owner takes the city back however the borders will be pushed. If you take a city through culture flipping you will start with some initially pushed borders. Use a Creative leader if it bothers you.