Replcing CS Gambit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replcing CS Gambit

I know many people are dissapionted that firaxis has changed the rules that make the CS Gambit impossible. Well, I came up with a strategy that, while is not as good as the CS Gambit, can give great benifets.

Basically you research Monarchy instead of Code of Law, then you use the Oracle to get Feudalism. Having Feudalism early on can give Longbows (which let you hold out to far larger forces), Vassalege (you never know when an extra promotion can help, and Serfdom (which gives you a superb economic advantage).

I am not very good at making civ4 strategy, so I will let more expirienced players take this stratagy further.
    USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA! USA!
    The video may avatar is from

I'm no expert by any means, but here are my thoughts anyways.

This strategy could work if you were in a situation where you could no longer use slavery, or if you're not big on whipping. Obviously I bring this up since Serfdom replaces slavery as a civic. Additionally, like you said, using vassalage+barracks+early longbowmen could give you a distinct military advantage over weak neighbors, if used properly.

How exactly have the rules been changed to make getting CS early impossible? I don't have Warlords, so if they added something to literally make the approach impossible, then I wouldn't know. My understanding was that the improved AI made it really tough to get the Oracle and to execute the slingshot, in which case this strategy wouldn't really work either for the same reason.

If i'm way off the mark, sorry for the errant post.

Comment

Not only is the AI better but they added Math in as a requirement for CS.

So your slingshot now requires you to research not just COL but also Math, pretty much guaranteeing the Oracle is already built by someone.

-abs
      Cool sigs are for others. I'm just a llama.

Comment

Originally posted by absimiliard