Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need a tip about Civ4

Hi,
    I've been playing Civ since the first title of the series, but I'm quite new to Civ4.
    Though I find many aspects of it very enjoyable, there is mainly 1 thing which happens in every time I start a map - I have a war in the classic age (though it comes at like 1000 AD). During the war,(in which I usually conquer some cities but dont eliminate the enemy), my progress is vastly slowed down. When the war ends, I'm behind the other civs (technology-wise) and I cant catch up with them (despite the fact that I have more cities and more powerfull armies). The most annoying thing is, since that point, in like one and a half hour (realtime) both medieval and renaissance eras pass by, which is no fun at all - I dont get to 'taste' this part of history (again, at all!).
    I play noble/normal speed/large map/continents. And by the way, every game feels the same (despite the fact that I choose the same conditions, in previous titles taht didnt happen).

Any advice? or is it simply the mechanics of the game?

Normal speed in CivIV is much quicker than normal speed in previous versions of Civ. Play epic or marathon speeds (available with the patch).
    LandMasses Version 3 Now Available since 18/05/2008.

Comment

My main suggestion would be to try the other game speeds. I also feel that some eras pass too quickly on Normal game speed. Play Epic. You can try Marathon, though I don't think it's well balanced. Or you can create your own speed.

Wars in Civ4 are very different than previous titles. Basically, yes, they slow your economy down. If you conquer more than your economy can support, you can have a serious crisis. That will be dealt with through experience, as you learn to better evaluate how much you can conquer.

Remember about city maintenance costs! So when you fight, think about how your maintenance will rise if you take more cities, and consider if you can afford it at all.