West Point Question (confused)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• West Point Question (confused)

I'm a relative newbie...so maybe I'm missing something pretty obvious.

I've waited for and tried to build the "West Point" National Wonder when it's become available (in the same city as the "Heroic Epic" NW). And I've rejected building any other NWs with the expectation that I'll be able to construct "West Point" one of these turns.

But, after playing 4-5 full games, I still have been unable to do so.

I think what is missing is a "Level 5 experience," but I'm not sure exactly what is required for that:

(1) Is that applicable anywhere in my Civ OR does the "Level 5" unit need to be located in the city where "West Point" is to be built at the time of construction? (I've unsuccessfully tried to move units which has 9/10 XP, 12/15 XP, 5/10 XP, 11/15 XP, 8/10 XP... but with no change in unbuildable status.)

(2) What exactly is a "Level 5" experience and how can I tell which of my units meet or exceed this requirement?

(3) Anything that could be a problem besides my not fulfilling the "Level 5 experience" requirement?

Whatever insight/help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Lost Soul 1

A Level 5 unit is one that has 4 promotions. So you need to get a unit with over 15XP. He doesn't have to be in the city in question.

With Warlords it has been changed to a Level 6 unit, which requires 21 XP (I think). It's much harder to get now, although combining it with a military academy and great generals makes it more useful too. Many people have said they use their first great general to promote a unit to Level 6 just so they can be assured of building WP.

If you do get a unit promoted to the desired level early in the game, you should strive to protect him so you can build WP later. It sucks to take your best unit and use him for garrison or mop-up duty, but it's usually worth it to get the WP.

Comment