some rules questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• some rules questions

Hello all. I just started playing Civ 4 this weekend. I've been playing versions 1-3 since they came out in 1992, but I'm new to this one. This is definately the worst rulebook and civilpedia in the series. There's no mention of roads or railroads in the civilpedia at all. It seems that they no longer improve land are are used only for transport. Why does the computer keep telling me to build them then? And how do you activate the Shrine function so you can look into enemy cities that share your holy city's religion? And what exactly is 'power' (the lightning bolts) and how does it work? Do the railroads still provide unlimted movement? Because even though I have all of my cities connected, it's still taking some units 2 or 3 turns (with go command) to get to the other end of the continent. This version is very difficult. I'm really suprised how much trouble the computer is giving me on Warlord level even if it is my first game. I love the challenge, but I think anyone who buys the game deserves to have all of the rules laid out for them. Does anyone else agree that this game is very confusing at first even for an experienced Civ player?
    Watashi no atama wa mochi ni natta

Why build roads? In some cases you need a road to your capital to establish trade routes. They are also useful in spreading religion.

Why build railroads? In some cases they will give you an extra shield from the tile (mines for example).

Do railroads provide unlimited movement? No - I think they use one tenth of a movement point.

The game is certainly complex; possibly complicated; but stick with it, it's not as confusing as it at first appears. There are a number of aspects where this version is different from previous ones, so some habits have to be unlearned. Also, there have been rule changes with the patches, so in some respects the printed documentation is not accurate.

RJM