Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trebuchets overpowered?

Saw this thread at Civfanatics:

I just started playing a warlords game and I think the trebuchets are massively overpowered. I am in the medieval era and added trebuchets to my attack stacks. With Charismatic, barracks, 2 Generals, and Theocracy, I can produce units with 3 promotions in my HE city and a CR3 trebuchet is...

I'm not one to comment on a balance issue without playing, but thought I'd ask those who have Warlords: does the OP have a point?

The key question seems to be SP. There seems to be consensus that Trebuchets can be taken down in the open, but does that AI do this? Or does it just sit in its cities to be wiped out?

I think Trebuchets may be a bit powerful. The +100% when attacking cities is a little bit much IMO when you take into account the overall damage it's doing with the collateral hits. I assume most people are like me in that they always defend their siege in stacks of other units, so getting them out in the field is a tough job, especially since their strength of 4 pretty much guarantees they'll be last to defend in a stack.

That being said, it sure is nice to have a mid-level siege unit before canons!
    - Dregor

Comment

Are Catapults overpowdered in era of Archers?
      Are Cannons overpowdered in era of Riflemen?

Comment

I don't think they're a huge problem. Sure they are powerful weapons to take on cities, but they are weak in the field. You shouldn't wait till they hit your city but try to take them out before they reach your city. It just requires an adaption in strategy for players.

I do hope that the AI is capable of countering trebs though. I haven't played a full game of Warlords yet so I cannot comment on that. Perhaps Solver can clarify that.
        Last edited by LordTheRon; July 28, 2006, 10:20.

Comment

Originally posted by player1