When would you not settle a City?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When would you not settle a City?

Why would you want to distroy a city (or give it back to its rightfull owner) if you are looking to win???

Thanks, Appriciate it.

Some cities just aren't worth the maintenance.

If you're going for culture win you may be quite behind on tech and giving away an city that isn't one of the big three might be a price worth paying for ultimate victory.
    www.neo-geo.com

Comment

I rarely destroy cities, mainly because it's just my nature to preserve what I capture. I'm a builder, not a destroyer.

It depends on the victory condition and things like that. in domination and conquest games it is more likely that you'll have this choice. In domination, you generally don't want to destroy cities, since you need the 64% land area to win and even scrawny tundra cities count for land area.

Sometimes you just want to remove the cultural influences of a city without keeping it, since it's borders may be impacting another city. More cities means more maintenance too, so if the city doesn't look like a productive city, it might not be worth defending or keeping for economic value. I suppose there are diplomatic reasons for giving a city back to it's original owner. A good ploy if you are going for diplomatic victory, yes?

Comment

Can you give it back/distroy it after you settle it.

Thanks, Appriciate it.

Comment

You can't destroy it after you keep it. You can offer it to the original owner though, or another civ. I don't know if it counts as the same diplomacy bonus as when you are first offered the choice. Also, the AI might not want to accept that city later. When you first capture the city, the AI isn't given a choice. They have to take it if you offer it.

Comment

I've gone back and loaded the save with the 20 units but alas it's quite a bit further on in the game than at that point.