Can't seem to get ahead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't seem to get ahead

Ok, I've followed a lot of the strategies and tips that many have thankfully provided in these forums. However, I can never seem to find a clear path to victory at Warlord level (I'm a newbie).

First of all, the German civ is ALWAYS ahead of everyone in the technology race. They have the most advanced units, and LOTS of them. It usually maintains a 600-700 point lead well into the 1900s. I've tried a few of the slingshot tricks to get ahead early, and they usually work. However, as the game goes on, I always get behind. I've built libraries, observatories, and academies. I've also tried the cottage route.

Another thing that bothers me: I pick a weak neighbor to attack in the hopes of gaining more land for a Domination victory. Well, that weak civ just so happens to have a defensive pack with a powerful neighbor. Oops! Now I have units attacking from all directions. I know I should have checked the dipomacy before attacking, but I don't always think about it. After all, I was at war with the same civ a few turns earlier before we agreed to a Peace Treaty.

Any advice? A domination victory would be nice.

You should be attacking well before defensive pacts come around if you want a domination victory. On warlord you should be able to easily crush your neighbor with axeman or even archers if you focus on building units instead of slingshots or wonders. Rush to bronze, chop and pop army, then rush to cats and you can crush everyone near you on this level without falling far behind.

Comment

Well, it's hard to give advice when we dont know how you build your empire.
      Since you fall behind in tech i would suspect that your city placement is flawed.