Continents/Prince

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continents/Prince

I'm a civ noob and have just won at Prince level a few days ago. Since then I've played a couple "Continents" games and lost badly. Here's what happens:

Game #1 I was the only civ on the continent. All the AI civs where on another continent. I didn't have any interaction with the AI until they got to Optics (long before me, I might add).

Being isolated like that, I was unable to get any religion--so organized religion did squat for me--no 25% build bonus that I like so much. Also, was unable to trade techs. Anyway, it was a tough situation. What's a good plan of attack when you find yourself isolated?

Game #2 I was stuck between two AI's on the same continent. This game wasn't so bad--made some mistakes a got both neighbors beating war drums. I think I could do it over and deal with it though. Problem is that it seems that you have to have completely different strategies to deal with Game #1 vs. Game #2 and you don't have many turns to figure out what game you're playing.

Any advice is appreciated.

Yes, that is the beauty of civ4. There is no fixed strategy, you need to adapt.

Of course, at the very start of the game you know nothing. So you start with whatever you think is best. And you adapt your strategy as you learn more about the world and your rivals.

Early scouting is important too.

Comment

Okay, I'll take a stab...

The first goal of every game should be to get a lay of the land. Not only for scouting future city sites, but also for scoping out the whereabouts of potential neighbors (or, soon to be subjects...whichever the case may be!).