Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is combat hollow, or is the calculator wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is combat hollow, or is the calculator wrong?

After reading the combat explained thread over at civ fanatics I started playing around with the combat calculator. According to it a knight (strength 10) attacking an unfortified axeman (strength 5) on open terrain (no attack or defend bonuses for either unit) has a 99% chance of victory. I haven't played the game nearly enough to know if observations back this up or not. If it holds true then that would mean infantry (strength 20) attacking a knight also has a 99% of victory, as does modern armor (strength 40) attacking infantry.

Here's the link for the combat calculator:

Those instances don't worry me nearly as much as a Jaguar (strength 5) attacking a chariot (strength 4) and having 75% chance of victory. Or a knight (strength 10) attacking an unfortified musketman (strength 9) and having a 68% chance of victory. Or a knight with combat 1 (strength 11) attacking a knight without any combat modifiers, and the attacking knight also having a 68% chance of victory.

What have you observed, and is the combat calculator right? If it is, should combat function as it currently does?

I suspect the calculator is correct, but I don't see the problem you are alluding to. Do you think superior units have too much of a chance of victory? It may look like that, but bear in mind that they will typically be badly wounded afterwards.

Often, I find a tank attacks and ends up with its strength little higher than a redcoats afterwards. Plus, if a I understand the combat system correctly, a wounded unit with strength 4/8 is easier to kill than full health lower tech unit with strength 4/4. (It has only half the hit points).