Deity OCC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deity OCC

Has anyone else tried this yet? (OCC = one city challenge) I found it to be pretty difficult. I have some questions for all:

What should the victory conditions be in a OCC to ensure an good challenge? Is a diplomatic victory a real OCC win, or does it have to be space race like in Civ2?

What map settings should be used as the standard OCC game settings for bragging rights purposes?

What wonders will be necessary for an OCC win?

How soon before someone wins an OCC on deity?

Ok I'm new to the Civ community (but have been playing civ since day one, I skipped Civ 3 though..), however...

How the hell can you win a game of civ with only one city?!

Comment

OCC on Deity in CIV would indeed be a staggering accomplishment. I'd want to hear very precise details of how it was done, and know exactly what map conditions were used.
      Friedrich Psitalon
      Admin, Civ4Players Ladder
      Consultant, Firaxis Games

Comment

I tried an OCC game on Noble. If you can get a Diplo victory, I would say it DEFINITELY counts, since I couldn't even come close. It's tough when you only get 35 UN votes.

I would say spaceship might not be possible. You have to be far, far ahead of the other civs in tech to have enough time to beat them to all the spaceship parts with one city. I'm not sure I see getting a huge tech lead as feasible in deity.

The one advantage you have is that in OCC, the two national wonders per city rule is waived.
        mmmmm...cabbage

Comment

Donpost,

I haven't tried it in cIV, but in Civ II it was a very popular playstyle.

From the Civ II Strategy Forum, check out the Great Library Index (1) at http://apolyton.net/forums/showthrea...&threadid=2723 and search for OCC. There are some notable Alpha Centauri Landings (I believe 1516 is the earlist one) games with logs there that you can look over. Also, don't miss the OCC Strategy Guide written by Paul (The Paulicy)