Barbarians

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Barbarians

So I'm new to civ from SMAC, wondering about the indiginous enemies (barbarians). The two games I've played (Direct IP; me, a friend, 5 cpu, terra, huge, we're allied) have followed the same pattern. I start off, do very well. All of the sudden Barbarians start appearing en masse in my territory but not in his. Second game there've been say 12 or 13 in my territory (pretty much a constant stream) to 2 (a minor nuisance) in his. Is this just bad luck on my part? There've been an absurd amount coming into my territory and it requires the complete dedication of my cities to counter barbarians constantly appearing at my borders. Often times I lose improvements because I simply can't run from one edge of my border to the other (out of my city in order to protect important improvements) quickly enough. The main question, however, is simply if it's just bad luck that I've seen a ton and he's only seen a few. He hasn't been in any special terrain positions that would keep barbs away.

Can't say for sure as I have not tried Huge yet. I would expect with more land that you will have less of the AI helping keep barbs or lions or what ever in check.

I know you can set no barbs or raging in a custom, not sure about the others.

Comment

In a game that i played, i didn't put any cities in one part of the continent i was on. There was a constant stream of barbarians there until i populated the area with cities. Perhaps it generates barbs when there is fog of war near you and no enemy civs nearby?

Comment

In Civ 3 Barbarians AFAIK could only spawn outside your cultural borders.

I have no doubt that it is still so in Civ 4.

So, if the whole continent/island is within your cultural borders (or the cultural borders of other players),
        theres should be danger of Barbs appearing.