Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What should each city have, and in what order?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should each city have, and in what order?

I'm not very good at Civ, but i do remember playing Civ2, i had a list of what the first 4-5 things each city should have, and in what order. It was something like a defender first, then a worker, then a granary, then another settler, then barracks... or something like that?

I get overwhelmed once my cities have lots of choices, like aqueducts, granaries, temples, barracks. I have no idea what to do, or what's essential, etc.

I might buy the strategy guide today. Would that help a little bit? Cause the manual doesn't really clear the confusion.

I like lighthouses for coastal cities

not sure how quick to build them

JM
    Jon Miller-
    I AM.CANADIAN
    GENERATION 35: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.

Comment

Re: What should each city have, and in what order?

Originally posted by stormwriter
      I'm not very good at Civ, but i do remember playing Civ2, i had a list of what the first 4-5 things each city should have, and in what order. It was something like a defender first, then a worker, then a granary, then another settler, then barracks... or something like that?

I get overwhelmed once my cities have lots of choices, like aqueducts, granaries, temples, barracks. I have no idea what to do, or what's essential, etc.

I might buy the strategy guide today. Would that help a little bit? Cause the manual doesn't really clear the confusion.
      Page 61 has a list of early objectives:
      1) Protect the city.
      2) Explore the world.
      3) Improve the land around the city.
      4) Build additional cities.
      5) Connect your cities.
      6) Crush your enemies.
      7) Improve the city's culture.