in-game movies, AVI or MPEG?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• in-game movies, AVI or MPEG?

are the in-game movies of cIV avi or mpeg format?
    I ask because since I've installed my new video card (GeForce 6600) my computer totally freezes if I try to play an mpeg movie. Avi plays fine.

I've re-installed my computer again, but no luck. Still freezes.
    I've ordered windows XP (only $18 as I'm a student ) and I hope this problem will be gone when I've installed that.

But right now I'm afraid I won't be able to play cIV because the in-game movies aren't in avi......

Beta-testers: please help!
    Formerly known as "CyberShy"
    Carpe Diem tamen Memento Mori

did you download all the latest nvidea drivers? Most of the times that is the solution of such problems...

Comment

I've done that.

Comment

Weird problem... But anyhow, I haven't seen any info on the format of the movies...
        Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.-Isaiah 41:10
        I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made - Psalms 139.14a
        Also active on WePlayCiv.

Comment

I'm pretty sure I'm not allowed to tell you the format, sorry.

Either way, try messing around with your nVidia drivers. Download the newest ones, if they fail, take a version a little bit earlier. That usually does the trick for me when I encounter video and graphical issues.
          Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
          I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

Comment

My guess would be Bink videos, but I really don't have much of a reason for that guess

If regular NVidia drivers don't work, try looking around at