Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No LB's until last moment ... that's the strategy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No LB's until last moment ... that's the strategy?

So, I've been playing the new Colonization. I never really got into the original (it came out a bit before I had good access to a computer).

I started playing a few times, learning to set up a working economy when the computer kept getting all the FF's. So I played a few games and found that generating LB's allowed me to compete with them for FF's, and I got production bonuses. Excellent! Then, way before I expected I was pressed for time on the WoI, so I checked the king's army and saw it was way larger than I could manage.

So I played a few more games, trying to build up a number of cities, generating LB's and arms, and again the deadline was coming up way too soon and the king's army way too large.

So I come on here and read about the 3 city, don't generate LB's until the last moment strategy. I go home, try it, and lo and behold I beat the game.

Wow am I disappointed. LB's generate a lot of good things (especially cultural boarders that "push" the natives out), but the game seems completely rigged against generating them.

Well, at least I still like Civ 4. I'm hoping a patch fixes some of this ... but I fear the problem is more of a core design/goal issue than just a simple balance issue.

I was really hoping for more of an economic game than a straight RTS build a quick base and pump out units before the zerg shows up.

Robert

It's certainly one strategy. As I and Dale and a few others have noted ... you CAN fight a large REF. You just have to try.
    If you prefer an easier game, the PatchMod (topped thread) Dale and I are working on makes the REF scale more substantially for lower levels, and does some other useful things also.
    <Reverend> IRC is just multiplayer notepad.
    I like your SNOOPY POSTER! - While you Wait quote.

Comment