Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Emigrants/Colonist unit

  1. #1
    MoonWolf
    Prince MoonWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2002
    Posts
    771
    Country
    This is MoonWolf's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    15:53

    Emigrants/Colonist unit

    I'm thinking it would have been nice with a unit called "Emigrant" or maybe "Colonist". This unit will be used for moving of population instead of building a worker or settler (build in city A, added to city B). I haven't decided wether it should cost 1 or 2 population units yet, maybe 2 too make a move of a city more efficient. Or maybe one of each. The cost will be less than worker if it "contains" 1 pop and between worker and settler if it "contains" 2 pop. ADM = 0/0/1 and may be captured. So my questions:

    1) Does anyone have/know of a unit suitable for this? Should look like a settler, but not quite the same.

    2) Does the AI currently add workers/settlers to it's cities? I use (often foreign) workers to increase population in small cities and my own to add "my" people to newly captured cities.

    3) What is your opinion about this idea? (Just interested, I do what I want anyway....)

    Thanks and regards,
    The moonloving Wolf

  2. #2
    Iron Chancellor
    Prince Iron Chancellor's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Mar 2002
    Posts
    368
    Country
    This is Iron Chancellor's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    08:53
    Good idea to beef up those wobegone expansionist tribes, if you ask me.

    [Poor America/Russia/Iroquois, doomed to Civ3 mediocrity ]

  3. #3
    MoonWolf
    Prince MoonWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2002
    Posts
    771
    Country
    This is MoonWolf's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    15:53
    Yeah, could be! Or maybe if the expansionist tribes got a cheaper/better version of this. Maybe with a defence factor. Still, how would the AI handle this?

  4. #4
    Admiral PJ
    Prince Admiral PJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Dec 2000
    Location
    Southeast England , UK
    Posts
    592
    Country
    This is Admiral PJ's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    13:53
    Yes the Ai can use other workers, but I don't think it knows how to use units that only have a few worker abilities, as these can't be set to be terraform workers.

    My Mega Mod, called Mantra Human Evolution has about 6 extra worker/settler types, the ai seems to be able to use combined settler/workers which is good.
    my mod will be out very soon.

    PJ

  5. #5
    MoonWolf
    Prince MoonWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2002
    Posts
    771
    Country
    This is MoonWolf's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    15:53
    Hi PJ,

    Unless you want to wait, can you post details of your workers? In addition to this Emigrant/Colonist, I've been thinking of some additional workers as well.

  6. #6
    Rusty Nail
    Warlord
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    220
    Country
    This is Rusty Nail's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    14:53
    iN MY CURRENT MOD I AM USING DOUBLE UU'S for all civs. ONE OF THE NEW ONES IS AN "ARMED WORKER" WITH A=1, D=1, two extra HP and "all terrain" capabilty. It is very attractive. Great against barbarians.

  7. #7
    Rusty Nail
    Warlord
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    220
    Country
    This is Rusty Nail's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    14:53
    I also have an "armed settler" UU with the same characteristics as the armed worker. You can send him out alone without an escort. Makes for faster development.

  8. #8
    MindsBigger
    Settler MindsBigger's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Jan 2003
    Posts
    22
    Country
    This is MindsBigger's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    13:53
    i just used the Horse and cart unit....i think its called merchant......sure looks like a Wagon full of people looking for someplace to call home...

  9. #9
    Underseer
    Warlord Underseer's Avatar
    Join Date
    06 Jan 2003
    Location
    in the general vicinity of Chicago
    Posts
    146
    Country
    This is Underseer's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    07:53
    Silly idea: combine all the abilities of workers and settlers into one "homesteader" unit (since that's essentially what homesteaders did). To avoid balance problems, I suppose the buggers would have to cost a lot of shields or something.
    "It's great to be known, but it's even better to be known as strange." --Takeshi Kaga

  10. #10
    Inverse Icarus
    Emperor Inverse Icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 May 2001
    Location
    flying too low to the ground
    Posts
    4,625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    08:53
    i tried several ideas to improve settlers. one thing i started to do was to design better settlers for expansionst players (give them a REAL kick). i game up with these ideas (options from a poll i made when determing "house rules" for my gang) :

    Expansionist Civs should get a cheaper settler (20 shields instead of 30)
    Expansionist Civs should get an optional wheeled settler with 2 moves (40 shields, they can build BOTH)
    Expansionist Civs should get an optional settler with a defense of 1 (40 shields, they can build BOTH)
    The Expansionist Ability should not be changed
    "I've lived too long with pain. I won't know who I am without it. We have to leave this place, I am almost happy here."
    - Ender, from Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

  11. #11
    The_Aussie_Lurker
    King
    Join Date
    06 May 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
    Posts
    1,457
    Country
    This is The_Aussie_Lurker's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    13:53
    You could give the American's a "Pioneer" UU. Basically like a settler, but doesn't become available until Navigation. Treats all terrain as roads, and has an A/D of, perhaps, 1/2. Only costs 1 population point

    Just a thought and, as has been mentioned, it's at least one expansionist civ which gets a bonus!

    Yours,
    The_Aussie_Lurker.

  12. #12
    Amesjustin
    Warlord Amesjustin's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2002
    Location
    of nothing
    Posts
    287
    Country
    This is Amesjustin's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 1, 2014
    Local Time
    06:53

    Re: Emigrants/Colonist unit

    Originally posted by MoonWolf
    I'm thinking it would have been nice with a unit called "Emigrant" or maybe "Colonist". This unit will be used for moving of population instead of building a worker or settler (build in city A, added to city B). I haven't decided wether it should cost 1 or 2 population units yet, maybe 2 too make a move of a city more efficient. Or maybe one of each. The cost will be less than worker if it "contains" 1 pop and between worker and settler if it "contains" 2 pop. ADM = 0/0/1 and may be captured. So my questions:

    1) Does anyone have/know of a unit suitable for this? Should look like a settler, but not quite the same.

    2) Does the AI currently add workers/settlers to it's cities? I use (often foreign) workers to increase population in small cities and my own to add "my" people to newly captured cities.

    3) What is your opinion about this idea? (Just interested, I do what I want anyway....)

    Thanks and regards,
    The moonloving Wolf
    I like this. The name should represent that the purpose of this unit is for a population shift, not terraforming or colonizing, so something like Immigrant would work. It should have no defense and be slow, making using them risky. No idea how the AI would handle it.

    Since this has more to do with population shifting between cities than expansion, I don't really see tying this to that trait, I do like some of the other settler/worker ideas floating around in this thread.

    1. Teturkhans mod has quite a few unique units. I would start there and look at other mods.

    2. Again, no idea.

    3. Interesting and Unique idea. The only time I could see myself using this unit would be if I could see a massive army coming to destroy my town , but I know that A LOT of people use workers for pop shifting, so they will love it.

    Good luck, can't wait to see the finished product!

Similar Threads

  1. Naming terrain, units, colonist
    By Apocalypto in forum Civilization IV: Colonization
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 19, 2008, 11:25
  2. So you want to be a colonist...
    By Grand Cadfael in forum AC Stories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 4, 2007, 06:33
  3. Settler and Colonist
    By orange in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 14, 2003, 09:57
  4. Colonist can't transform plains to grassland?
    By Nethog in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 30, 2003, 17:24
  5. Replies: 23
    Last Post: September 8, 2001, 04:37

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions