Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: can I create impassable terrain?

  1. #1
    ruebarb
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2000
    Location
    Mpls, MN USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    09:33

    Post can I create impassable terrain?

    Hey guys - first time post - I've been playing Civ II again (gold edition) and I want to design a scenario that uses a map of Philip Jose Farmer's "Riverworld"- Think a canyon a mile or two wide, with sheer cliffs impassable to foot travel, and a river running down it. Now picture this canyon and river running around the world from pole to pole. Get the idea? I need impassable terrain - and I've tried editing the rules.txt, but it seems like the AI can still traverse it.

    I'll use ocean for the river, so I can build boats, but I'm at a bit of a loss for info on keeping all ground troops in the canyon. (air will be allowed - they can build blimps) -

    Any suggestions?

    RB

  2. #2
    techumseh
    Emperor techumseh's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 1999
    Location
    of the frozen North.
    Posts
    4,258
    Country
    This is techumseh's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    03:33

    Post

    Get Test of Time.

  3. #3
    zyxpsilon
    Warlord zyxpsilon's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Sep 2000
    Location
    Laval,Quebec,Canada
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    09:33

    Arrow

    Not without using available "terrain" slots.
    Now... Trees, mountains, hills AND >coastal squares< onto which no ground and sea units can cross.
    Another "tricky" way could be the making of an extra unit -invisible-, not allowed to move, with defensive factor high enough to sustain any attack (BUT, that's theory, only!)
    Heard, also, that such an impassable terrain has been designed into TOT. Since i don't own that version, i wouldn't be able to indicate how it was done.
    Anyone?

  4. #4
    CornMaster
    Prince CornMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 May 2000
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    501
    Country
    This is CornMaster's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    06:03

    Post

    You could use TOT but to could also take a regular terrain like "Tundra" and draw it to what ever you want it to look like. The put it's required movement to like 99 and then very few units will be able to go over it. Just place the new turdra tile where you want the no movement to be. The only downside is that you loose the regular tundra as a terrain type. That's why I always use Tundra.

    If you need any help just ICQ or e-mail me.

    ------------------
    "I'm too out of shape for a long fight so I'll have to kill you fast"
    "If LESS is MORE, just think of how much MORE, MORE would be!"
    I AM CANADIAN!
    Civfanatics.com Civ 2 Multiplayer Ladder!
    My Civ 2 Scenario Page.

  5. #5
    Waku
    Emperor Waku's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Nov 2000
    Location
    Cádiz, Spain
    Posts
    3,442
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    10:33

    Lightbulb

    Have a look to the scn "Athel Loren":
    http://apolyton.net/cgi-bin/civ2/db/review.cgi?ID=487

    It has an impassable terrain i think you can find interesting

    c u

  6. #6
    ruebarb
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2000
    Location
    Mpls, MN USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    09:33

    Post

    ok - really stupid followup - I have ToT, but couldn't find a map/scenario editor with that one. I understand it has impassable terrain, but I'm not sure how to implement it.

    I also tried making a type impassable (my mountains) by increasing their movement to 99 in the rules.txt file, but every unit gets at least one square, no matter the cost, so it doesn't help.

    Anywhere I can go for Test of Time editors/map editors that let me use the impassable terrain?

    One other interesting point - I'm not sure if I'm leaving the research paths the same or not. The premise of Riverworld is that everyone ever born gets reborn/created on this experimental world. You wonder how you would do research when the knowledge is already there. (Just not the materials) - Should be fun if I can do it.

    RB

  7. #7
    techumseh
    Emperor techumseh's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 1999
    Location
    of the frozen North.
    Posts
    4,258
    Country
    This is techumseh's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    03:33

    Lightbulb

    ruebarb, there is no built in editor. Use your Windows Explorer and find the Rules text file in your scenario folder. If there isn't one, then copy one from the ToT 'original' folder. Open it and find the terrain fields (after the units field). The last variable for each type of terrain is a yes for impasssible terrain or no if not.

    Then go to the units advanced field farther down. Look for the G column. You can override the impassible flag for each type of unit. It's the 5th flag from the RIGHT. A 1 allows that unit to traverse impassible terrain, a 0 does not. Air units can pass freely over impassible terrain.

    It's really not too difficult. You can check out the design tips available on the Scenario League site. William Keenan and Cam have done some excellent work on ToT tips. (link at the bottom of this page) Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    Kestrel
    Warlord
    Join Date
    05 Jul 1999
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    204
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    September 17, 2014
    Local Time
    09:33

    Post

    Here is an example of using impassable terrain from one of my Secanrios :

    From the 3-D Scenario rules.txt

    I don't want any units to be able to "travel" underground unless there are tunnels

    so :

    @TERRAIN1
    Cont. Shelf,8,2, 0,0,0, no, 0, 0, 5, For, 0, 4, 1, no, yes, ; Drt
    Mudstone, 8,2, 0,0,0, no, 0, 0, 1, For, 0, 4, 1, no, yes, ; Pln
    Clay, 8,2, 0,0,0, no, 0, 0, 2, For, 0, 3, 1, no, yes, ; Grs
    Tunnel, 1,2, 0,0,0, yes, 1, 8, 2, Hil, 0, 2, 2, no, no, ; For

    But the "Tunneling Unit must be able to build the tunnels in the first place (by mining the relevant impassable tile) so in the @UNITS_ADVANCED section it has :

    11111111, 00001100, 0, 0000000100000000,0000000100000000,0000000000000000 , 00110000 ;Tunneling Unit

    It is the fifth byte from the right that sets the impassable terrain override.

    Hope that helps.


Similar Threads

  1. Cities on Impassable Terrain
    By Patine in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 23, 2006, 15:05
  2. Impassable terrain in TOT
    By Heresson in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 23, 2005, 17:38
  3. Impassable terrain characteristics?
    By MikeLynch in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 1, 2003, 14:59
  4. Impassable Terrain
    By zulu9812 in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 29, 2002, 18:20
  5. Railroads on impassable terrain
    By Hannibal3 in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 5, 2000, 01:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions