Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 4 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 446

Thread: New fix for the renderer error

  1. #1
    Solver
    Former Geek-in-Chief Solver's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2000
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    18,381
    Country
    This is Solver's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10

    New fix for the renderer error

    This is old (2005) information applicable to the original Civ4. If you have patched your game or if you have any of the expansions, or Civ4 Gold/Civ4 Complete, and you are having problems, then your problem is certainly not what this thread was about.

    Official Civ4 Patch:

    The official 1.52 patch is available for download. Please download and install the patch before trying any other fixes.

    ----

    This fix has been tried for Inverse Icarus and Unimatrix, and got their games fully working, so everyone give it a try.

    Requirements:

    You have installed a retail version of Civ4, along with the DirectX update on the CD. You have installed the 5.10 ATI drivers.

    Instructions:

    1. Download, unzip and run this application.
    2. From the menu, select PAK->Unpack.
    3. Go to your Civ 4 Folder, Assets subdirectory (CivilizationIV\Assets), select the Art0.FPK file, click Open.
    4. You'll be prompted to select an extraction folder, select CivilizationIV\Assets - same folder as above.
    5. Wait. The program may appear to hang with the progress bar at 100%, but it will be done with unpacking in 2-5 minutes.
    6. Move the Art0.FPK file out of your Assets folder so that Civ4 can't find it.
    7. Run Civ4.

    Attention Windows 2000 users!!

    The Unpak tool doesn't work for Windows 2000, but Firaxis are in the process of updating it to do so. In the meanwhile, you can use the unofficial utility by Gramphos.

    Please report your video card and whether this works for you.

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Solver; April 30, 2008 at 17:25.
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    Contact: solver-at-weplayciv-dot-com
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

  2. #2
    Solver
    Former Geek-in-Chief Solver's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2000
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    18,381
    Country
    This is Solver's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10




    Last edited by Solver; October 27, 2005 at 17:09.
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    Contact: solver-at-weplayciv-dot-com
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

  3. #3
    Sikta
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Country
    This is Sikta's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    WOOHOO!!!!!!! I love you man!!!

    It worked for me on my Radeon 9550!!!

  4. #4
    boredoftheworld
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    2
    Country
    This is boredoftheworld's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    10:10
    Sapphire 9600xt 256mb...

    WORKED!!!!!!!! WOOT etc!

    THANK YOU... back in about 10 hours.

  5. #5
    JD13
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    3
    Country
    This is JD13's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    08:10
    Looking forward to testing this in two hours!

    Fingers crossed.
    __________________________
    Well many hours later and my Arabs are well on their way to a cultural victory. Loving Civ IV!
    Last edited by JD13; October 28, 2005 at 10:41.

  6. #6
    quanaco
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is quanaco's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Sweet Holy Jesus! It works! 9800 mobility

  7. #7
    Freddz
    Prince
    Join Date
    10 Mar 1999
    Posts
    383
    Country
    This is Freddz's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Originally posted by Sikta
    WOOHOO!!!!!!! I love you man!!!

    It worked for me on my Radeon 9550!!!
    You have win xp with SP1 or SP2?

  8. #8
    Zoomba
    Settler
    Join Date
    26 Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is Zoomba's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    It worked! I'm finally able to play. This freaking rocks!

  9. #9
    JaguarUSF
    Settler
    Join Date
    21 Jul 2005
    Posts
    9
    Country
    This is JaguarUSF's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Works for me too.

    Radeon 9550

    Well done gentlemen, and thanks.

  10. #10
    McGlu
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is McGlu's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Woohoo! Works!!!

    ATI Radeon Mobility 9800 256MB
    Dell XPS Laptop

  11. #11
    McKeu
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    12
    Country
    This is McKeu's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Question: Will this work for European Version? Might fix my probs with ingame videos, too...

  12. #12
    Inazuma23
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    4
    Country
    This is Inazuma23's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10

    IT worked

    I have an ATI Radeon 9550 256MB and tried everything.. even formatted and reinstalled windows.. and did everything all over again..

    it worked.. that fixed my Failure to Initialize renderer Issue thanks.

  13. #13
    alva
    Deity alva's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2001
    Location
    Republic of Flanders
    Posts
    10,815
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10
    Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing?
    Then why call him God? - Epicurus

  14. #14
    liamburke
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    7
    Country
    This is liamburke's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Sapphire Radeon 9600

    Workin'

    Nice fix guys! Any chance of a technical explanation of why it works?

  15. #15
    alva
    Deity alva's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2001
    Location
    Republic of Flanders
    Posts
    10,815
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10
    McKeu: should work on Euro versions too.
    Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing?
    Then why call him God? - Epicurus

  16. #16
    Solver
    Former Geek-in-Chief Solver's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2000
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    18,381
    Country
    This is Solver's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10
    Any chance of a technical explanation of why it works?


    Computers .
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    Contact: solver-at-weplayciv-dot-com
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

  17. #17
    Soren Johnson
    Civilization IV Lead Designer
    Join Date
    29 May 2001
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    11:10
    < sigh of relief >
    - What's that?
    - It's a cannon fuse.
    - What's it for?
    - It's for my cannon.

  18. #18
    Inverse Icarus
    Emperor Inverse Icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 May 2001
    Location
    flying too low to the ground
    Posts
    4,625
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    10:10
    "I've lived too long with pain. I won't know who I am without it. We have to leave this place, I am almost happy here."
    - Ender, from Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

  19. #19
    BaysideLogHomes
    Settler
    Join Date
    06 Jul 2004
    Posts
    12
    Country
    This is BaysideLogHomes's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Only for XP though is it??

  20. #20
    Bowley
    Settler
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2004
    Posts
    6
    Country
    This is Bowley's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Definitely will try this when I get home.

    (Is someone letting the other poor people on other Civ4 message boards know?)

  21. #21
    Solver
    Former Geek-in-Chief Solver's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2000
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    18,381
    Country
    This is Solver's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10
    It should also work on Win2000 I believe. It's just that we're running XP.
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    Contact: solver-at-weplayciv-dot-com
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

  22. #22
    tarheelgod
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    3
    Country
    This is tarheelgod's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    when i try to open the art0.fpk file in assets (also my assests file is acually CustomAssets, is that all right?) nothing happens

    what am i doing wrong?

  23. #23
    Amniotic
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    26 Oct 2005
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    ATI x800 XL. Had the renderer error, works now. Cheers to anyone else with an x800.

  24. #24
    BaysideLogHomes
    Settler
    Join Date
    06 Jul 2004
    Posts
    12
    Country
    This is BaysideLogHomes's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    I'm having probs then running the file after it's been unzipped... I'm Win2000

    Something about the entry point, AttachConsole in Kernal32.dll

  25. #25
    Solver
    Former Geek-in-Chief Solver's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Sep 2000
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    18,381
    Country
    This is Solver's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    17:10
    It shouldn't be in CustomAssets. Are you sure you're looking under the folder you installed Civ4 to?
    Solver, WePlayCiv Co-Administrator
    Contact: solver-at-weplayciv-dot-com
    I can kill you whenever I please... but not today. - The Cigarette Smoking Man

  26. #26
    Corland
    Settler
    Join Date
    27 Oct 2005
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is Corland's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    Worked Win XP SP 2 Radeon 9600 AMD64 2800

    Thanks!

  27. #27
    Aro
    Emperor Aro's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jul 2002
    Location
    Botanic Garden, Rio
    Posts
    5,351
    Country
    This is Aro's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    12:10
    Solver, Inverse Icarus and Unimatrix, nice job!

    Btw, I don't have the game yet (I live in Brazil... A beautiful place, but with a delay of two months of Civ IV ). I'm just an enthusiastic civver.
    RIAA sucks
    The Optimistas
    I'm a political cartoonist

  28. #28
    Jon Shafer
    Firaxis Games Programmer/Designer
    Join Date
    09 Apr 2002
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    9,566
    Country
    This is Jon Shafer's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    11:10
    We seem to have figured out what the problem was.

    Have fun everyone!

  29. #29
    QJaxun
    Settler
    Join Date
    04 Jan 2004
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is QJaxun's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    WOO!!! fixed the render error for me as well.

    RADEON 9600 256

    Thanks

  30. #30
    sNoFoX
    Settler
    Join Date
    15 Oct 2003
    Posts
    3
    Country
    This is sNoFoX's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 21, 2014
    Local Time
    15:10
    It works!! x800

    Thanks bigtime!

Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 4 11 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Possible Fixes for "Failed to Initialize Renderer" Startup Error
    By Jon Shafer in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 296
    Last Post: March 6, 2010, 12:46
  2. Failed to Initialize Renderer Error?!?!?!
    By Bkeela in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 2, 2008, 09:11
  3. Patch 213 Error: Init Error Error loading shader libraries
    By Deity Dude in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: August 6, 2007, 23:41
  4. Renderer error check direct X and video settings
    By ilike2 in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 3, 2006, 02:39
  5. Is this the "Failed To Initialize Renderer" error?
    By JuLeZ in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 27, 2005, 19:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions