Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Massive maps and longer games???

  1. #1
    OmniGod
    Prince OmniGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Dec 1999
    Location
    Welland, ON
    Posts
    751
    Country
    This is OmniGod's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20

    Question Massive maps and longer games???

    This is just a poll to see if there is anyone out there interested in longer games (700 turns) on really large maps (500x1000). As of right now I'm working on a 560x1040 map of Earth with a ratio of 10miles per tile. I need to know if there is any demand for this type of map since it's very time consuming and will require editing of unit characteristics to be implemented properly... just a thought...

    OMNI

  2. #2
    TheBirdMan
    Emperor TheBirdMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Sep 1999
    Location
    A real Master of CTP-PBEM - together with all the others.....
    Posts
    6,305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20

    Post

    Problem:

    Your pc will need as much memory, as you can put into it. Right now I'm playing on a 192x256 map with 11 civs.

    Using all the best mods I can find (including the new AAIP - great, great grafics - see the gallon, it's better done than the ship-of-line - and the javelin....) it now takes 3-4 minutes pr. turn. And I have 96 Megs.

    But you can bet there are demand for it - if I don't get a 128 Meg blok as a X-mas gift, then I'll buy on myself after NewYear - that's for sure.


  3. #3
    TheBirdMan
    Emperor TheBirdMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Sep 1999
    Location
    A real Master of CTP-PBEM - together with all the others.....
    Posts
    6,305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20

    Post

    Problem:

    Your pc will need as much memory, as you can put into it. Right now I'm playing on a 192x256 map with 11 civs.

    Using all the best mods I can find (including the new AAIP - great, great grafics - see the galleon, it's better done than the ship-of-line - and the javelin....) it now takes 3-4 minutes pr. turn. And I have 96 Megs.

    But you can bet there are demand for it - if I don't get a 128 Meg blok as a X-mas gift, then I'll buy on myself after NewYear - that's for sure.


  4. #4
    TheBirdMan
    Emperor TheBirdMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Sep 1999
    Location
    A real Master of CTP-PBEM - together with all the others.....
    Posts
    6,305
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20

    Post

    60 hours - that's very fine indeed.

    Earlier I often use 25-35 hours on a CIV II game and now (CTP) the double on a normal game - even when I seldom finish the game.

    OK - I wrote it before: I'm slow. Like to think what I'm doing before I do it.

    Same as in the RTS AgesOfEmipire, where my best score was about 650 on the Zone (DevineMe) - where I lost because of too much thinking.

  5. #5
    OmniGod
    Prince OmniGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Dec 1999
    Location
    Welland, ON
    Posts
    751
    Country
    This is OmniGod's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20

    Post

    So far it doesn't appear to be any real problem... the test map has 21 civs and measures the full 560x1080 and I'm running only on 128Mb... sure the game is slowed, approx 2-4 per computer turns but life isn't that fast either.... the game should take about 60 hours to complete... isn't something this good worth wasting 60 hours to play especially if there is a real realism factor involved....

    OMNI

  6. #6
    OmniGod
    Prince OmniGod's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Dec 1999
    Location
    Welland, ON
    Posts
    751
    Country
    This is OmniGod's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20

    Post

    There's gonna be a delay for my map, but I hope to have it prepared for the 31st but my fingers are crossed... hopefully it goes over well....

    OMNI

  7. #7
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by OmniGod
    So far it doesn't appear to be any real problem... the test map has 21 civs and measures the full 560x1080 and I'm running only on 128Mb... sure the game is slowed, approx 2-4 per computer turns but life isn't that fast either.... the game should take about 60 hours to complete... isn't something this good worth wasting 60 hours to play especially if there is a real realism factor involved....

    OMNI
    I trust old Omnigod as he was very active..gonna have a go at how this works for an epic map

    will let ya know

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  8. #8
    Casey_Val
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2005
    Location
    Victorville (Mojave desert)
    Posts
    10
    Country
    This is Casey_Val's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20
    Hi guys, i'm new, can u tell me where can i find these maps, the idea of playing a massive 500x1000 map make me wonder and with 31 civs, wow, should be so fun! What can i do to take it?

    I know for example how to edit the units properties to adapt them to different conditions, such as inccreasing or decreasing their movement or whatever... If u need to know... just check the units.txt in the gamedata folder...

  9. #9
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    I been making my own but you could check the download section of the call to power section on the main page of apolyton...maps are there..not sure of the largest map however..

    Peace and good luck

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  10. #10
    Locutus
    Deity Locutus's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Nov 1999
    Location
    De Hel van Enschede
    Posts
    11,705
    Country
    This is Locutus's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    16:20
    You'll find CtP1 maps online here and here, but they're not particularly large (no larger than 140x100, if I'm not mistaken). OmniGod ended up releasing his very large maps only for CtP2, not for CtP1. If you want very large maps for CtP1, I'm afraid you'll have to make them yourself...
    Administrator of WePlayCiv -- Civ5 Info Centre | Forum | Gallery

  11. #11
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    and then you will have to tweak with ai

    I did one about 350 X 700 and 3 of ai literally wandered around never settled...

    Thanks Locutus for the feedback
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  12. #12
    Locutus
    Deity Locutus's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Nov 1999
    Location
    De Hel van Enschede
    Posts
    11,705
    Country
    This is Locutus's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    16:20
    Originally posted by Grandpa Troll
    and then you will have to tweak with ai

    I did one about 350 X 700 and 3 of ai literally wandered around never settled...
    I believe CtP2 has some similar problems. Try making the map smaller. In CtP2, the largest maps Omni could make without causing AI problems was something like 210x210. You'll just have to fiddle with the size and maybe AI files to find the maximum for CtP1...
    Administrator of WePlayCiv -- Civ5 Info Centre | Forum | Gallery

  13. #13
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by Locutus


    I believe CtP2 has some similar problems. Try making the map smaller. In CtP2, the largest maps Omni could make without causing AI problems was something like 210x210. You'll just have to fiddle with the size and maybe AI files to find the maximum for CtP1...
    Thanks for the feedback

    which, through trial and error I ended up coing to that conclusion..

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  14. #14
    Casey_Val
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2005
    Location
    Victorville (Mojave desert)
    Posts
    10
    Country
    This is Casey_Val's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20
    Which AI problems could I encounter if i make a very large map?
    And also how do i make one?

    Anyway thank u for the help

  15. #15
    Casey_Val
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2005
    Location
    Victorville (Mojave desert)
    Posts
    10
    Country
    This is Casey_Val's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20
    Oh yeah, another thing yet!
    Why do my downloaded world map 24 and stuff saved games doesnt work? How can i make them work?

    Thanks

  16. #16
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by Casey_Val
    Which AI problems could I encounter if i make a very large map?
    And also how do i make one?

    Anyway thank u for the help
    the ai will wander around and around at time

    to make a map use the cheat mode in the game

    I am on way to work but you could search the front page of apolyton and maybe a link for the guidelines for making and then saving a designed map

    good luck

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  17. #17
    Casey_Val
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2005
    Location
    Victorville (Mojave desert)
    Posts
    10
    Country
    This is Casey_Val's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20
    Oh, thank u Grandpa Troll, so i should use the editor?

    Can i make bigger maps like the ones that are on the net or i can just use the ctp new game screen to select the dimension of the map?

  18. #18
    J Bytheway
    Emperor J Bytheway's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,826
    Country
    This is J Bytheway's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:20
    If you want to create maps of different sizes than those you can normally select, you can do so by editing the appropriate data file in ctp_data\default\gamedata. I can't remember what it's called exactly, but I guess it's something like map.txt.

  19. #19
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by J Bytheway
    If you want to create maps of different sizes than those you can normally select, you can do so by editing the appropriate data file in ctp_data\default\gamedata. I can't remember what it's called exactly, but I guess it's something like map.txt.
    const.txt will change the map and then you have river lengths and mountain and hills ect.

    Have fun

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  20. #20
    Locutus
    Deity Locutus's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Nov 1999
    Location
    De Hel van Enschede
    Posts
    11,705
    Country
    This is Locutus's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    16:20
    You can change the mapsize itself in const.txt as Grandpa Troll said, but then your random maps will look all messed up. By experimenting with adjusting the various values in map.txt you can make random maps look normal again.
    Administrator of WePlayCiv -- Civ5 Info Centre | Forum | Gallery

  21. #21
    Casey_Val
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2005
    Location
    Victorville (Mojave desert)
    Posts
    10
    Country
    This is Casey_Val's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    14:20
    thank u guys, that it will help a lot. I'll try both ways, then use the editor to make a super map

    For now i'm playing a standard game with a random map and it's fine, but u know, i need a very good large map realistic... and lots of civs to make it interesting and challenging

  22. #22
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by Locutus
    You can change the mapsize itself in const.txt as Grandpa Troll said, but then your random maps will look all messed up. By experimenting with adjusting the various values in map.txt you can make random maps look normal again.
    and now I learned something

    Thanks

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

  23. #23
    Mathemagician
    Emperor Mathemagician's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Sep 2002
    Location
    Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Alpha-Quadrant, Milky Way
    Posts
    3,185
    Country
    This is Mathemagician's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:20
    my experience(s) with very large maps a while ago (250x500 i believe):

    - about a third to half of the AIs didnt move at all. nor did they ever settle.

    and with more than 8 civs:

    - you can play single player games with up to 32 civs. the colors (especially the green) will be hard to distinguish, but it will work. also i believe you can define the colors somewhere.
    however, once you want to play with other people (hotseat, PBEM), you are always limited to 8 civs. at least i havent found a way around that yet.
    Baal: "You dare mock me ?"
    O'Neill: "Baal, c'mon, you should know ... Of course I dare mock you."

  24. #24
    Grandpa Troll
    Immortal Factotum Grandpa Troll's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2000
    Location
    Enforcing the Law of Reason/Restraint
    Posts
    41,039
    Country
    This is Grandpa Troll's Country Flag
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    July 28, 2014
    Local Time
    10:20
    Originally posted by Mathemagician
    my experience(s) with very large maps a while ago (250x500 i believe):

    - about a third to half of the AIs didnt move at all. nor did they ever settle.

    and with more than 8 civs:

    - you can play single player games with up to 32 civs. the colors (especially the green) will be hard to distinguish, but it will work. also i believe you can define the colors somewhere.
    however, once you want to play with other people (hotseat, PBEM), you are always limited to 8 civs. at least i havent found a way around that yet.
    correct in userprofile.txt you set to 32 (plus barbs IIRC) and yes the colors get used over and over

    I found the same with the ai's going nowhere or doing nothing..

    but once you trim map up they perform ok or seem to

    Lets all keep posting and we will get somewhere keeping this game alive

    Gramps
    Did anyone have Ryan Dunn From Jackass FAME? He died in a fiery car crash speeding after being in a bar. And to think, everyone thought he would die doing something stupid-rah

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help: Making longer games
    By greenday_234 in forum Civilization IV Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 12, 2006, 09:27
  2. Blazing games, Duel Sized maps for teams, OCC Games...
    By Fleme in forum Civilization IV Multiplaying
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 6, 2005, 14:10
  3. Massive Multiplayer Role Playing Games
    By Sparrowhawk in forum Other Games-Archive
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: May 3, 2004, 19:25
  4. What kind of score is possible with larger/longer games?
    By Kindbud in forum Galactic Civilizations
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 2, 2003, 02:42
  5. Exchanging maps in games with several maps
    By Andz83 in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 7, 2000, 13:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions