Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Application error in windows 7

  1. #1
    weswood
    Settler
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Country
    This is weswood's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    23:49

    Application error in windows 7

    I'm having a weird problem lately in Windows 7. Trying to run either CivCTP or CTP2, I get the error message:
    "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000005). Click OK to close the application."

    This seemed to start shortly after I tried out some mods on both games, then decided I didn't like the mods. I've uninstalled, reinstalled, cleaned the registry, etc. but still get the same message. No other programs are affected.

    Thanks for any help, I'd really like to play these games again someday.

  2. #2
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    07:49
    For CTP2 you could try out the Apolyton Edition. It is a fan made patch with a lot of bug fixes.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  3. #3
    weswood
    Settler
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Country
    This is weswood's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    23:49
    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Gühmann View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    For CTP2 you could try out the Apolyton Edition. It is a fan made patch with a lot of bug fixes.

    -Martin
    Well, for me it seemed to cause more bugs than it fixed. And it was after I tried to get rid of the AE and go back to the basic CTP2 that I couldn't access the program anymore.
    So now what's the procedure?

  4. #4
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    07:49

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by weswood View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well, for me it seemed to cause more bugs than it fixed.
    Don't you have for that some crash.txts. You could post their content, in the appropriate forum thread. Probably, I won't come around to fix them so soon, but at least the stuff would be there.

    Quote Originally Posted by weswood View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    And it was after I tried to get rid of the AE and go back to the basic CTP2 that I couldn't access the program anymore.
    Did you make sure to get rid of all files, you had in your CTP2 folder? Well, of course unless it were savegames.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  5. #5
    weswood
    Settler
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Country
    This is weswood's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    23:49
    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Gühmann View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Did you make sure to get rid of all files, you had in your CTP2 folder? Well, of course unless it were savegames.

    -Martin
    Yeah, I got rid of everything, ran uninstallers and then deleted folders until there was no trace. Reinstalled from scratch, still having problems. This was the GOG.com version, in case that makes a difference.

  6. #6
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    07:49
    Quote Originally Posted by weswood View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This was the GOG.com version, in case that makes a difference.
    Probably not.

    That's now pretty hard to guess what it is. It could be that you have got a new DirectX version, but it is unlikely that it causes problems. You may have installed new Indeo5 video drivers. In that case it would help if you disable movies. I think there should be an option in the userprofile.txt in your ..\ctp2_program\ctp\ folder. Maybe the operting system put a copy of the file somewhere in the settings folder, since Windows 7 doesn't like to modify the content of program folders.

    So that could be a lot of causes. I could be able to narrow it down if you show me the content of the crash.txt.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  7. #7
    weswood
    Settler
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Country
    This is weswood's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    23:49
    Quote Originally Posted by Martin Gühmann View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Probably not.

    That's now pretty hard to guess what it is. It could be that you have got a new DirectX version, but it is unlikely that it causes problems. You may have installed new Indeo5 video drivers. In that case it would help if you disable movies. I think there should be an option in the userprofile.txt in your ..\ctp2_program\ctp\ folder. Maybe the operting system put a copy of the file somewhere in the settings folder, since Windows 7 doesn't like to modify the content of program folders.

    So that could be a lot of causes. I could be able to narrow it down if you show me the content of the crash.txt.

    -Martin
    Forgive my ignorance--I can't find a crash.txt anywhere. Where would that be?

  8. #8
    BureauBert
    Warlord BureauBert's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Apr 2003
    Location
    Vienna, proud home of bureaucracy
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    08:49
    To generate a crash.txt you need to find the entry EnableLogs in \ctp_program\ctp\userprofile.txt and set it to EnableLogs=Yes. If the game crashes you will find the crash.txt-file in the same folder.

    "Compatibility files" in Windows 7 already caused me a lot of trouble especially with modding CTP2: Windows 7 doesn't like files in it's "programs"-folder to be modified by the user or an application and so it puts a "working copy" of each file that needs to be modified into a "compatibility files"-directory. Therefore, if you really want to get rid of all files that belong to an application you need to find their copies in the "compatibility files"-directory and delete them from there as well. I am using XP at the office and so I can't tell you exactly where to find that directory at the moment -- but if you open the "real" program folder you will find a button in the upper left portion of the window labeled with something like "compatibility files" (it's "Kompatibilitätsdateien" in my german version) that links to the "clone" folder.
    The modding knowledgebase: CTP2 Bureau (with CTP2 AE Modding Wiki). Modern Times Mod (work in progress): MoT-Mod for CTP2.

  9. #9
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    07:49

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by BureauBert View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    To generate a crash.txt you need to find the entry EnableLogs in \ctp_program\ctp\userprofile.txt and set it to EnableLogs=Yes. If the game crashes you will find the crash.txt-file in the same folder.
    But only if you have the Apolyton Edition installed.

    Quote Originally Posted by BureauBert View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    "Compatibility files" in Windows 7 already caused me a lot of trouble especially with modding CTP2: Windows 7 doesn't like files in it's "programs"-folder to be modified by the user or an application and so it puts a "working copy" of each file that needs to be modified into a "compatibility files"-directory. Therefore, if you really want to get rid of all files that belong to an application you need to find their copies in the "compatibility files"-directory and delete them from there as well. I am using XP at the office and so I can't tell you exactly where to find that directory at the moment -- but if you open the "real" program folder you will find a button in the upper left portion of the window labeled with something like "compatibility files" (it's "Kompatibilitätsdateien" in my german version) that links to the "clone" folder.
    Well, I gave my CTP2 folders right access to everyone, so not only my compiler can write there a new executable, but the executable itself can also write stuff there.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  10. #10
    TATSUO
    Settler TATSUO's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Country
    This is TATSUO's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 1, 2014
    Local Time
    02:49
    weswood
    Try uninstalling your c++ then reinstalling it, you may have to uninstall and reinstall the program too.
    Who ever said everything is possible never tried slamming a revolving door!

Similar Threads

  1. TERRANX.ICD - Application Error
    By QiZhe in forum Alpha Centauri
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: November 27, 2009, 18:45
  2. Application Error
    By detisch in forum Civilization I and Civilization II
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 21, 2006, 15:27
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 27, 2005, 00:01
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 18, 2005, 19:01
  5. What can cause a SMEDS application error?
    By Ecthelion in forum Civ2-General/Help-Archive
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: March 24, 2002, 19:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions