Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 38

Thread: Windows 7 issue

  1. #1
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55

    Windows 7 issue

    I can't get Windows 7 to associate PBEM files correctly.
    Anyone have any suggestion.

    I've already launched and created a PBEM game using the software. I've tried associating it with civctp.exe but then double clicking the icon just launches the regular game rather than launching the PBEM. From what I gather I need to associate it with ".../civctp.exe -|"%1" " or something, I can do this in window XP easily but I can't seem to do it in windows 7. Anyone know how to do this?
    --Higgs

  2. #2
    EPW
    Emperor EPW's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Jan 2004
    Location
    ??
    Posts
    3,946
    Country
    This is EPW's Country Flag
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    08:55
    I have xp, but I found this with google:
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...-protocol.html
    "

  3. #3
    thehappies
    Prince
    Join Date
    03 Aug 2004
    Posts
    513
    Country
    This is thehappies's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    15:55
    We're all 'behind the times' running XP (or, heaven forbid, Vista)--that's why we're all still playing CTP instead of CIV IV, or at least CTP2!

  4. #4
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    Ah I have civ 4. I'm playing CTP because I like it better, =-).
    --Higgs

  5. #5
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    Also this requires me to simply select the application, unfortunately it doesn't allow me to add that extra command so that it opens the game rather than launching the menu.
    --Higgs

  6. #6
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    Did you ever solve this John? I've now got the same problem.
    I think I think, therefore I might be. Paraphrased from Ambrose Bierce (1842 - 1914)

  7. #7
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    16:55

    Post

    Well for Windows 7, CTP2 and, PBEM, I put the file into a regular single save game folder and I could load the game, well afterwards I fixed a bug. So I did not test what would happen if I end turn, but I guess it would behave, normally.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  8. #8
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    I never did fix this, but martin's suggestion seems like it would work. How did you end up fixing the bug, or did doing this simply fix it on its own?
    --Higgs

  9. #9
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    Cuiach had a solution for this a long time ago: he suggested that doing this was necessary.

    First be very careful with your registry find a way to back it up before making any changes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cuiach
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If I remember correctly, I had to start and save a game with the original install, then again with each update, to ensure the Windows Registry properly associated the .csg file with CTP. As well, the setting in the registry under

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\csgfile\Shell\Open\command

    needs to read thusly:

    C:\"your directory"\ctp_program\ctp\civctp.exe -l"%1"

    with, of course, the proper directorie(s) in place of "your directory". This allows the game to start without going through the start-up screen. However, it doesn't always work (for reasons I do not understand) and it took me a few tries to get it right.

    Bruce
    --Higgs

  10. #10
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    --Higgs

  11. #11
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    Thanks for those JG, I'll give them a go.
    I think I think, therefore I might be. Paraphrased from Ambrose Bierce (1842 - 1914)

  12. #12
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    Did any of these work?
    --Higgs

  13. #13
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    I tried the registry thing, but not the reinstalling everything and playing a turn with each install. I'm now not using that PC, so I'm not pursuing it at this time.
    I think I think, therefore I might be. Paraphrased from Ambrose Bierce (1842 - 1914)

  14. #14
    hatschy
    King hatschy's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Jun 2002
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    1,189
    Country
    This is hatschy's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    I still use Vista, so I can't tell with 100% certainity whether the following works for Windows 7. I have attached a registry export file (inside a zip archive) that contains the minimum information for associating ".csg" files correctly with CtP. Logon as an administrator, extract the ".reg" file from the zip archive to some folder or to the desktop, double-click on the ".reg" file and allow the import of the contained information into the registry. Maybe you'll have to log off / log on before the association takes effect. If your intallation folder is different from "C:\Program Files\Activision\Civilization-Call To Power" then open the ".reg" file with a text editor before you do the import and correct the last line to point to the correct location (be careful to use double backslashes as path separators since the backslash is used as an escape character within that string).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    Cuaich
    Prince Cuaich's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    717
    Country
    This is Cuaich's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    10:55
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnGalt137 View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Cuiach had a solution for this a long time ago: he suggested that doing this was necessary.

    First be very careful with your registry find a way to back it up before making any changes.
    Hey Gang...have you been able to get Win7 to open PBEM saved game files correctly?

    My instructions listed above by JG137 were accurate for XP SP3 and earlier, but I have not tested them on later versions on Windows. Any time I had to reinstall my OS or CTP1, I found I had to go through the steps of associating the PBEM files with the appropriate registry entry for each step along the way (i.e. for each revision to the game). It was time-consuming, and not always successful, but no other process ever worked for me, including manually altering the registry with the proper command (C:\"yourdirectory"\ctp_program\ctp\civtp.exe -|"%1").

    I'm about to get a new machine with Win7 as the OS...let me know if anyone comes up with a better solution.

    Cuaich/Bruce

  16. #16
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    hatchsky, The file you've got there seems to be empty
    --Higgs

  17. #17
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    I'm on a new Win 7 machine and I can't get the game to run. It gets to the launch screen (plays the intro movie fine) and crashes on launch.

    I've got it in Win 95 or Win 98 compatibility, running as admin, tried setting core affinity to a single core, none of it is working.

    Any ideas?
    I think I think, therefore I might be. Paraphrased from Ambrose Bierce (1842 - 1914)

  18. #18
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    OK, the issue above was because I was using a backup cd, so copy protection was at play. Fixed now.

    Now, where have all the apolyton patches and fixes gone?

  19. #19
    Solarius Scorch
    Warlord Solarius Scorch's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Feb 2011
    Location
    Cracow
    Posts
    178
    Country
    This is Solarius Scorch's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    It may be useful to add that Windows 7 doesn't allow launching files with parameters. This can however be done using w7 Power Tools. It did wonders for me.

  20. #20
    Max_Smirnov
    Prince Max_Smirnov's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Feb 2011
    Posts
    380
    Country
    This is Max_Smirnov's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    To launch .csg under w7:
    1.Go here: creativelement . com / powertools / #download
    2. Download it.
    3. Edit .csg file entry with File Doctor (I believe that's what it was called). Add a 'r-click command'
    4. The command should be .../civctp.exe -|"%1"
    5. Bear in mind that the program will expire within 45 days, but the association should stay
    It worked instantly, no issues, the game wasn't even installed (I still use an installation from many years ago and a different machine)

  21. #21
    bbd999
    Settler
    Join Date
    08 Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Country
    This is bbd999's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    10:55
    I am trying to get ctp1 to work on my win7 32bit laptop and have no luck, set run as admin, compatibility win98, and still get CRC 8808-7BDC. I tried on my win7 64bit desktop as well get same error. I can't seem to set process affinity keeps saying access denied when I go under task manager. I tried using psexec to set it and it said civctp exited with error code -1073741819.


    -Update: Looks like you have to run the 1.2 patch as admin and then actually restart. this fixed the issue.
    Last edited by bbd999; March 8, 2011 at 12:13.

  22. #22
    Cuaich
    Prince Cuaich's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Mar 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    717
    Country
    This is Cuaich's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    10:55
    After I patched the game with 1.2 and 1.21 (as an administrator) I had no problem opening PBEM saves...easier than it was using XP, actually!

    I'm running Win7 Pro 64-bit.

    Bruce

  23. #23
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    Quote Originally Posted by hatschy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I still use Vista, so I can't tell with 100% certainity whether the following works for Windows 7. I have attached a registry export file (inside a zip archive) that contains the minimum information for associating ".csg" files correctly with CtP. Logon as an administrator, extract the ".reg" file from the zip archive to some folder or to the desktop, double-click on the ".reg" file and allow the import of the contained information into the registry. Maybe you'll have to log off / log on before the association takes effect. If your intallation folder is different from "C:\Program Files\Activision\Civilization-Call To Power" then open the ".reg" file with a text editor before you do the import and correct the last line to point to the correct location (be careful to use double backslashes as path separators since the backslash is used as an escape character within that string).
    This worked brilliantly for me. One small note: for my (and I assume other) Win7 installation the .reg file needs to be edited to change


    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\csg_auto_file\shell\open\command]
    @="\"C:\\Program Files\\Activision\\Civilization-Call To Power\\ctp_program\\ctp\\civctp.exe\" -l\"%1\""

    to

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\csg_auto_file\shell\open\command]
    @="\"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Activision\\Civilization-Call To Power\\ctp_program\\ctp\\civctp.exe\" -l\"%1\""

    Thanks very much Hatschy

  24. #24
    ricketyclik
    Emperor ricketyclik's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2002
    Location
    Great Southern Land
    Posts
    9,367
    Country
    This is ricketyclik's Country Flag
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    02:55
    In fact, to save everyone the trouble, here's my edited one:

    csg_auto_file.zip

  25. #25
    Max_Smirnov
    Prince Max_Smirnov's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Feb 2011
    Posts
    380
    Country
    This is Max_Smirnov's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    This works. You rock, people.

  26. #26
    JohnGalt137
    Warlord
    Join Date
    14 Sep 2004
    Posts
    231
    Country
    This is JohnGalt137's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    09:55
    What, I can finally play CTP again!? This is awesome. Thanks guys.
    --Higgs

  27. #27
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    16:55

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by ricketyclik View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    In fact, to save everyone the trouble, here's my edited one:

    csg_auto_file.zip
    Quote Originally Posted by ricketyclik View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    This worked brilliantly for me. One small note: for my (and I assume other) Win7 installation the .reg file needs to be edited to change


    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\csg_auto_file\shell\open\command]
    @="\"C:\\Program Files\\Activision\\Civilization-Call To Power\\ctp_program\\ctp\\civctp.exe\" -l\"%1\""

    to

    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\csg_auto_file\shell\open\command]
    @="\"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Activision\\Civilization-Call To Power\\ctp_program\\ctp\\civctp.exe\" -l\"%1\""

    Thanks very much Hatschy
    Quote Originally Posted by hatschy View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I still use Vista, so I can't tell with 100% certainity whether the following works for Windows 7. I have attached a registry export file (inside a zip archive) that contains the minimum information for associating ".csg" files correctly with CtP. Logon as an administrator, extract the ".reg" file from the zip archive to some folder or to the desktop, double-click on the ".reg" file and allow the import of the contained information into the registry. Maybe you'll have to log off / log on before the association takes effect. If your intallation folder is different from "C:\Program Files\Activision\Civilization-Call To Power" then open the ".reg" file with a text editor before you do the import and correct the last line to point to the correct location (be careful to use double backslashes as path separators since the backslash is used as an escape character within that string).
    I put this into our recently resurrected download database. So that more people can find this. For the entries I copied your posts, feel free to edit them, if you think they could be more precise.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  28. #28
    Alix
    Settler
    Join Date
    17 May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    Hello

    First time posting on this forum.
    You got to save me people!

    I was playing on CTP until last month. I even had megamod!
    After I unisntaled it 2 weeks ago.

    I wanted to play again.
    Installation is ok but when I triy to play it doesn't launch but after a few second I have this message:
    "The application couldn't start properly (0xc0000005)"
    "Click OK to close the application."

    So I put wanted to patch but it says that my version doesn't need it...

    I tried anything you said... nothings works.

    HELP!
    Thanks

  29. #29
    Max_Smirnov
    Prince Max_Smirnov's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Feb 2011
    Posts
    380
    Country
    This is Max_Smirnov's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    Maybe it's not registered? Or the OS is denying it rights to change files on the disc? Damn, I've repaired CTP so many times, as my installation survived 2 machines and several OS reinstalls, but I still don't remember how to do it.

  30. #30
    Alix
    Settler
    Join Date
    17 May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 30, 2014
    Local Time
    17:55
    Quote Originally Posted by Max_Smirnov View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Maybe it's not registered? Or the OS is denying it rights to change files on the disc? Damn, I've repaired CTP so many times, as my installation survived 2 machines and several OS reinstalls, but I still don't remember how to do it.
    I'm running on win 7
    It was running perfect the first time I don't understand why is it bugging now!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 18, 2005, 19:01
  2. Windows XP install issue
    By stick32003 in forum AC-General/Help/Strategy-Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 13, 2004, 15:05
  3. Windows XP Compatability Issue
    By learneds in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 9, 2002, 10:11
  4. text Issue with Windows XP
    By Special Ed in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 11, 2002, 08:41
  5. Windows XP issue resolved
    By Droximus in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 31, 2001, 13:02

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions