Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 113

Thread: Unofficial BTS 3.13 patch

  1. #1
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50

    Unofficial BTS 3.13 patch

    Similar to Solver's patch for 3.02, this patch modifies the CvGameCoreDLL.dll file. As with his version, it's best to make a backup of the dll before overwriting it.

    Note: The source for the modifications is included (multiple files with a .cpp extension). If you aren't a modder, you have no need for those files, and can safely delete them.

    Changelog:
    • Fixed bug where culture/espionage would not display for building popups
    • Fixed bug where spies would be ejected from a square when declaring war
    • Fixed bug that caused the AI to trade for resources it already had (appears as grossly uneven trades)
    • Refixed trade bug
    • Refixed culture/espionage display bug
    • Fixed bug with Warlords attaching to units when the Great General is part of a selection group
    • Prevented new Colonies from overwriting previously existing Civs
    • No longer displays new Colony message if player hasn't met Master Civ
    • Workers on Transports no longer perform capture of cities (thereby displacing all other units) when city is captured
    • Units considered "unsuitable" for city defense will no longer be prevented from healing in cities
    • No longer able to base an unlimited number of air units in vassal's cities
    • Can found Corporations under Mercantilism
    • Vassal's spies will no longer be "caught" in your territory
    • Amount of time worked taken into consideration by city plot selection (thanks SevenSpirits)
    • The Vassal of a Capitulating Civ is freed before peace treaty
    • Mouse-over for Worker actively working a plot no longer counts Worker twice
    • Automated Workers will no longer idle when railroading is possible
    • Mouse-over for Join City now displays extra bonuses for Great People
    • Vassals freed by Capitulating Master no longer refuse to talk
    • Privateers can only enter team members' or vassals' cities
    • Automated Workers will no longer idle in cities within 2 squares of a hostile border
    • Refixed Vassal/capitulation
    • AIs less likely to build Executives if they can't afford to use them or already have sufficient
    • Buildings that grant both heathiness and unhealthiness will display both instead of neither in building popups
    • Vassals can no longer be their Master's worst enemy
    • Espionage ratio for humans now displayed in score tooltip (thanks morbus)
    • Improved worker threat assessment from units able to move multiple squares
    • Spies no longer interrupt their mission when moving next to an enemy unit
    • Fixed AI turn slowdown caused by change to worker threat assessment
    • Relationship penalty for declaring war on a friend checks if Civs are at war
    • Altered previous worker threat assessment check so it's less useful, but more efficient
    • Fixed bug (introduced) causing endless loop at "waiting for players"
    • Fixed bug (introduced) causing the Great Persons civilopedia entries to be blank
    • Stolen techs can no longer be traded with No Tech Brokering enabled
    • New Colonies mirror their Master's tech status with No Tech Brokering enabled
    • New Colonies mirror their Master's exploration (map) status
    • Healthy/Unhealthy bonuses will display properly under more circumstances (events, etc)
    • Extended spy ejection protection to Great Spies (and any other unit considered "always invisible")
    • AI Civs under Theocracy will no longer accept gifted Missionaries
    • Units withdrawing from combat will be removed from selection group (thanks Moctezuma)
    • When bumping naval units from cities, preference will be given to water tiles
    • Tweaks/bugfixes to improve starting city locations (thanks SevenSpirits)
    • Cities no longer require a Monument to allow Spies to sabotage buildings
    • Rivers added for starting locations will generate flood plains if they pass through desert tiles
    • Spy unit help popup will display the percentage espionage cost decrease from fortification


    v1.21
    http://apolyton.net/upload/view/5412...atch-v1.21.zip

    Also available is a supplementary fix that deals with the XML/Python files (unrelated to the dll fixes above).

    • Reactivated the Glance diplomatic screen
    • Fixed a bug preventing war declarations via Worldbuilder
    • Civilopedia promotions no longer display a unit class if only a subsection of that class can get the promotion
    • Partisans only appear when Civ is running Emancipation


    v1.03
    http://apolyton.net/upload/view/5412...atch-v1.03.zip

    Bh
    Last edited by Bhruic; May 17, 2008 at 17:14.

  2. #2
    MoonWolf
    Prince MoonWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Oct 2002
    Posts
    771
    Country
    This is MoonWolf's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Nice! Thanks mate

  3. #3
    JimMac
    Prince JimMac's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Mar 1999
    Location
    Belfast, N.Ireland
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    18:50
    Yeah; great work Bhruic.

    With your fix on top of 3.13, I had a great game of BTS,(lost to the AI by a Culture victory! )

    Hope someone at Firaxis takes note and issues a hotfix.

  4. #4
    joncnunn
    Emperor joncnunn's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Sep 2002
    Location
    Maryland Heights, MO
    Posts
    6,183
    Country
    This is joncnunn's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    First a big thanks for fixing the AI wants every resource thing, that was very annoying in 313.

    Here's an oddity I noticed after I had installed the unoffical patch, I don't know if this would happens on 313 or not.

    Anyway, in the Zulu's past turn they discovered Military Science. But dispite being capitulated to me they say "they don't like me enough" to sell it to me. I thought capitulated civs should always be willing to trade techs with their masters?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    1st C3DG Term 7 Science Advisor 1st C3DG Term 8 Domestic Minister
    Templar Science Minister
    AI: I sure wish Jon would hurry up and complete his turn, he's been at it for over 1,200,000 milliseconds now. :mad:

  5. #5
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Nope, it's only resources they are "forced" to give to their Masters - they are allowed to hold on to techs.

    Bh

  6. #6
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Updated:
    • Can found Corporations under Mercantilism/State Property
    • Vassal's spies will no longer be "caught" in your territory


    Bh
    Last edited by Bhruic; October 13, 2007 at 12:24.

  7. #7
    joncnunn
    Emperor joncnunn's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Sep 2002
    Location
    Maryland Heights, MO
    Posts
    6,183
    Country
    This is joncnunn's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    I would think you shouldn't be able to found a corp under State Property since it's suppose to shut even domestic ones down. If all your interested in in corporation denial I think you should have to switch out of State Property first.

    I do agree that Corporations should be able to be founded under Merchantism since it's not supposed to affect domestic operations, only keep out the foreign ones.

    Originally posted by Bhruic
    Updated:
    [LIST][*]Can found Corporations under Mercantilism/State Property[*]Vassal's spies will no longer be "caught" in your territory
    [LIST]

    Bh
    1st C3DG Term 7 Science Advisor 1st C3DG Term 8 Domestic Minister
    Templar Science Minister
    AI: I sure wish Jon would hurry up and complete his turn, he's been at it for over 1,200,000 milliseconds now. :mad:

  8. #8
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Yeah, public opinion seems to agree with you, so I've modified it so they can be founded with Mercantilism, but not State Property.

    Bh

  9. #9
    Robert Plomp
    Administrator Robert Plomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Mar 1999
    Location
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Posts
    12,124
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 18 Times in 8 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Good list of fixes Bhruic!! Thanks!
    Question, in MP it's impossible to play loaded savegames because no actions can be done. All windows can be opened, we can chat, but we can't actually play. Just nothing happens.

    Can you check out what's going on?
    We thought it may have to do with the fact that we're not with the same number of players as last game.

    Here's the save (it doesn't work for 95% of the others saves either!!)

    http://apolyton.net/forums/attachmen...postid=5069494
    Formerly known as "CyberShy"
    Carpe Diem tamen Memento Mori

  10. #10
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Update:
    • Amount of time worked taken into consideration by city plot selection (thanks SevenSpirits)
    • The Vassal of a Capitulating Civ is freed before peace treaty


    Bh

  11. #11
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Originally posted by CyberShy
    We thought it may have to do with the fact that we're not with the same number of players as last game.
    How many players were in the original game?

    I need to get some sleep now, but I'll try to have a look at it tomorrow.

    Bh

  12. #12
    snoopy369
    Senior Staff snoopy369's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2004
    Location
    Of the Peanuts Gallery
    Posts
    32,110
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 73 Times in 64 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Originally posted by Bhruic
    [*]Can found Corporations under Mercantilism/State Property

    Bh
    I would not make that change in a bug-fixing patch. The initial change (to corp cannot be founded in SP) feels like an intentional change, and is significantly too controversial for a bug-fixing patch (as opposed to a balancing patch). (On the other hand, Merc certainly should be able to found corporations, so that part is okay.)
    <Reverend> IRC is just multiplayer notepad.
    I like your SNOOPY POSTER! - While you Wait quote.

  13. #13
    lockstep
    King lockstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Aug 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    1,529
    Country
    This is lockstep's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Thanks for these updates, Bhruic!
    "As far as general advice on mod-making: Go slow as far as adding new things to the game until you have the basic game all smoothed out ... Make sure the things you change are really imbalances and not just something that doesn't fit with your particular style of play." - WesW

  14. #14
    Robert Plomp
    Administrator Robert Plomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Mar 1999
    Location
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Posts
    12,124
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 18 Times in 8 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Originally posted by Bhruic


    How many players were in the original game?

    I need to get some sleep now, but I'll try to have a look at it tomorrow.

    Bh
    11 in the original game.
    We had 10 players last friday, then it didn't work.

    I would not make that change in a bug-fixing patch. The initial change (to corp cannot be founded in SP) feels like an intentional change, and is significantly too controversial for a bug-fixing patch (as opposed to a balancing patch). (On the other hand, Merc certainly should be able to found corporations, so that part is okay.)


    agreed.
    Formerly known as "CyberShy"
    Carpe Diem tamen Memento Mori

  15. #15
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Originally posted by snoopy369
    I would not make that change in a bug-fixing patch. The initial change (to corp cannot be founded in SP) feels like an intentional change, and is significantly too controversial for a bug-fixing patch (as opposed to a balancing patch). (On the other hand, Merc certainly should be able to found corporations, so that part is okay.)
    Yeah, after discussing it, I did revert it so that you can't found under State Property, but you can under Mercantilism. It seemed like a good balance (and in line with the original intentions of the developers).

    Bh

  16. #16
    Zebek
    Chieftain Zebek's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 Jun 2006
    Location
    Benaguasil, Valencia
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    18:50
    ... ops sorry !!
    Last edited by Zebek; October 12, 2007 at 18:22.

  17. #17
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Update:
    • Mouse-over for Worker actively working a plot no longer counts Worker twice
    • Workers will no longer idle when railroading is possible
    • Mouse-over for Join City now displays extra bonuses for Great People
    • Vassals freed by Capitulating Master no longer refuse to talk


    Bh

  18. #18
    PolarHki
    Settler
    Join Date
    14 Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50

    Potential bugs with 1.08 unofficial patch?

    I played a game with your 1.07 inofficial patch, then installed 1.08 and continued. I noticed two potential bugs that might be worth reporting:

    1.) I had one vassal already, and by fighting down another Civ into capitulation I gained a second vassal. In that moment, the first vassal was freed, without that any conditions for vassal freeing were fulfilled. (When I went to negotiate, that Civ immediately agreed to be back as my vassal.)

    2.) Some of my workers in a city were inactive, and remained so even after clicking on "fully automatic" worker. However, there were clearly things to do, and after clicking on "automatically improve nearest city only", they started to work.

    Sorry, I didn't make saves 1), but could post a save of 2) if needed.

    Anyway all in all great patch, thanks a lot!

  19. #19
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Yeah, I'd like to see the save for (2) - automated workers shouldn't be sitting idle if they have available tasks (with 1.08).

    Bh

  20. #20
    joncnunn
    Emperor joncnunn's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Sep 2002
    Location
    Maryland Heights, MO
    Posts
    6,183
    Country
    This is joncnunn's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    A couple questions about this: "Vassals freed by Capitulating Master no longer refuse to talk" Were they only doing this when their former master had only recently stoped refusing to talk or all the time?
    And was the length of the former vassal refusing to talk only a turn or two or was it acting as if the war had just started that turn?

    If the answers to both of them are the former it's possible it was working fine before. But if the answers to both of them are the later, then yeah that's definately a needed fix.
    1st C3DG Term 7 Science Advisor 1st C3DG Term 8 Domestic Minister
    Templar Science Minister
    AI: I sure wish Jon would hurry up and complete his turn, he's been at it for over 1,200,000 milliseconds now. :mad:

  21. #21
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Vassals won't talk to you if you are at war with them - you have to talk to their Masters. Once they were on their own, they reverted to normal "you just declared war" behaviour.

    Bh

  22. #22
    guermantes
    Warlord guermantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    286
    Country
    This is guermantes's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Is it possible to correct the 'issue' new to BTS where workers building improvements are graphically improperly positioned in the grid so that it appears as if they are working the tile next to the one they are standing in.

    It is not a major thing but I wonder why it is that this appeared in BTS, and it has actually made me cancel worker orders a few times when I thought I gave the wrong order initially but then realised it was the graphical imposition of the guy that made me think he was working a tile other than the one in question.

    (By the way, perhaps more of a modding question but where are all the women in this game? Does anyone know of a way to get a few women workers out in the fields so as make the landscape a little bit more varied?)
    "Can we get a patch that puts Palin under Quayle?" - Theben

  23. #23
    wodan11
    King wodan11's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,343
    Country
    This is wodan11's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    17:50
    I don't think I've ever seen that myself, guermantes, not in any version of BtS or any of the patches or "unofficial" patches. It's very strange sounding. Are you sure it's not just your graphic card or something? Has anyone else reported this problem?

    Wodan

  24. #24
    snoopy369
    Senior Staff snoopy369's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2004
    Location
    Of the Peanuts Gallery
    Posts
    32,110
    Thanks
    133
    Thanked 73 Times in 64 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    What resolution are you playing at? Does changing the resolution eliminate the issue?

    I think that is more than likely an error on the graphics renderer at the specified resolution not placing things quite correctly. Particularly on wide screen resolutions and such I can see that sort of problem happening. I don't think that could be fixed in a fan patch.

    I suggest attaching a screenshot if you can

    Women workers you could mod in certainly. You'd have to create NIFs etc. for them, and then just give them to be used by any given civ
    <Reverend> IRC is just multiplayer notepad.
    I like your SNOOPY POSTER! - While you Wait quote.

  25. #25
    PolarHki
    Settler
    Join Date
    14 Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50

    Save for automated workers problem

    Originally posted by Bhruic
    Yeah, I'd like to see the save for (2) - automated workers shouldn't be sitting idle if they have available tasks (with 1.08).

    Bh
    Ok, attached is the saved game for (2). I play the Holy Roman empire. Locate on the cities of Mainz or Ulm. There are three or one idle worker, respectively. If you select them, you'll see the blue circles that suggest what to do (if you have the corresponding option on). Click on "automated worker", and you see what they'll do is - nothing. Try the next turn, same result.

    I guess you can reproduce (1) also by playing a few turns attacking the Americans until they agree to capitulate (should be easy). England will be freed as vassal in the same moment they capitulate, for no reason.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  26. #26
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    I don't need to duplicate (1), I already know about that problem - basically it was a case of me incorrectly updating some code (ie, the problem was on my end). Next version will have that fixed. I'll try and see what's up with your workers tho'.

    Bh

  27. #27
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Ok, it turns out that the reason your workers aren't doing anything is because they are horribly scared.

    Basically, when automating workers, it checks how close they are to enemy borders. If they are within 2 squares of an enemy border (which they are in both the cities you mention), they will hole up in the city and do nothing.

    Firaxis seems to realize this isn't optimal behaviour, as there's a note in the source "maybe not do this??? could be working productively somewhere else...", but that's the way they've left it.

    I'm going to look into doing the danger check slightly differently (basically check whether the plot they would work is close to the border instead of their current location) and see if that's feasible.

    edit: Grr. The way they handled AI worker jobs is rather annoying. There's no real way to have it do danger assessment for each job because it assigns the job immediately. The more annoying part is that it'll actually assign workers to work on plots that are closer to the border - as long as the worker didn't start next to the border to begin with. Fixing this would be a major undertaking.

    Bh
    Last edited by Bhruic; October 16, 2007 at 02:41.

  28. #28
    PolarHki
    Settler
    Join Date
    14 Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    19:50
    Ok, thanks for the info.

    Interestingly, they do start to work if you press "improve nearest city", which is slightly inconsistent if they fear the border.... (Should be the other way around if it's fear: No action if you want to improve only the city at the border, but do jobs somewhere else in the central country if you press "automated worker")

    But as I understand that this would be a major update, maybe we have to wait until Firaxis' next patch (if any...?).

  29. #29
    Bhruic
    Prince
    Join Date
    26 Jun 2004
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    12:50
    Well, I can do something to "fix" the problem, it's just not going to be as good a fix as a complete overhaul would do. It just strikes me as especially silly that if a worker is sitting in a city that's within 2 squares of the enemy border, it will sit there doing nothing, but if it's not, it'll think nothing about moving even closer to the border and starting working. Very inconsistent.

    I'm still not sure which "fix" I'll use - I've been trying a couple of different things to see how the AI reacts to them.

    Bh

  30. #30
    mike2h
    Warlord
    Join Date
    25 Nov 2005
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 31, 2014
    Local Time
    17:50
    thx for all your great work!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unofficial BtS 3.17 patch
    By Solver in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: June 7, 2009, 09:14
  2. Civ4 Col: Unofficial bug-fix patch
    By Dale in forum Civilization IV: Colonization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 12, 2009, 06:28
  3. A few questions about the unofficial 3.17 BTS patch
    By snafuc4 in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 13, 2008, 12:03
  4. Solver's Unofficial Patch and AU
    By Blake in forum Civ4 Apolyton University
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: June 11, 2008, 15:07
  5. BtS unofficial patch
    By Solver in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 418
    Last Post: October 2, 2007, 16:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions