Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: RTW w/o icons for units and techs

  1. #1
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43

    RTW w/o icons for units and techs

    I'm playing RTW scenario and my units and techs don't have the small iconswhich to indentify them - nly names.

    Does smbd else have the same problem.

    Is there a describtion of the events which will happen or you have to finished it once.

  2. #2
    Dale
    Emperor Dale's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2000
    Posts
    3,968
    Country
    This is Dale's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    07:43
    Hmm.... never heard anyone else with this problem.

    Does it affect other parts of BtS as well, like the standard game or other mods?

  3. #3
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43
    10x for the reply.

    I found the RtW: Information Thread RtW: Information Thread

  4. #4
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43
    And here how it looks

    It never hapened in other mods or in the original game

    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Dale
    Emperor Dale's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2000
    Posts
    3,968
    Country
    This is Dale's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    07:43
    Do you have low-res graphics on? I think that might be the problem here.

  6. #6
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43
    Realy thank you.
    I'm playing the game since Civ 2 first came out, and this is a time when I fill stupid.

  7. #7
    Shrapnel12
    Prince Shrapnel12's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Posts
    757
    Country
    This is Shrapnel12's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    21:43
    You mean it's not supposed to look like that? I thought it was just a novel way of showing the units to give a sort of a historical WWII feel to the mod. Guess you're not the only stupid one ptzvetan.
    EViiiiiiL!!! - Mermaid Man

  8. #8
    Jon Shafer
    Firaxis Games Programmer/Designer
    Join Date
    09 Apr 2002
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    9,566
    Country
    This is Jon Shafer's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    17:43
    Originally posted by Shrapnel12
    You mean it's not supposed to look like that? I thought it was just a novel way of showing the units to give a sort of a historical WWII feel to the mod. Guess you're not the only stupid one ptzvetan.
    I think he means the weird dots, e.g. in the "Leads To" box.

    Jon

  9. #9
    Dale
    Emperor Dale's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2000
    Posts
    3,968
    Country
    This is Dale's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    07:43
    Yes, the dots in "Leads to".

    The unit icons (NATO symbols) are as they should be.

  10. #10
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43
    Yes I was speekeing about the dots,
    but at the same time I was wandering and for the unit.
    Now you enlightned me
    Still I don't find it very user-friendly.

  11. #11
    Dale
    Emperor Dale's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2000
    Posts
    3,968
    Country
    This is Dale's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    07:43
    It's more for the war board-game grognards (like myself) from the 1980's.

  12. #12
    ptzvetan
    Warlord
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    110
    Country
    This is ptzvetan's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    00:43
    Don't get me wrong I love the war especially I manianc on WWII
    Your post are the only one which I post for the last 2 years !

    I tried the germans on Prince level and it was very easy.
    I'll try now on Emperor level.

  13. #13
    Shrapnel12
    Prince Shrapnel12's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Apr 2007
    Posts
    757
    Country
    This is Shrapnel12's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    21:43
    Originally posted by Jon Shafer

    I think he means the weird dots, e.g. in the "Leads To" box.

    Jon
    Guess I'm still a dummy though.

  14. #14
    Michlo
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    30 Oct 2005
    Location
    LA, USA, originally GB
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    13:43
    I too find the icons a little frustrating as I can't easily tell what is what.

    I don't mean to bash the mod as obviously a lot of work went into it but being British I do have to point out a couple of gripes, hehe.

    1) Why do the British workers all sound distinctly American? :P

    2) Why does Great Britain start off with part of the South covered by France's influence?


    Oh and not a gripe but have you noticed that you get messages such as "has been captured by the France" and "the Germany" ?

    Cheers.
    Lord Michlo

    Founder and protector of Clan Walker
    http://www.ClanWalker.net

  15. #15
    Wiglaf
    Emperor Wiglaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Dec 2000
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    9,153
    Country
    This is Wiglaf's Country Flag
    Thanks
    128
    Thanked 193 Times in 108 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    16:43
    Odd that you can get George Patton (great general) is born in Berlin

  16. #16
    Dale
    Emperor Dale's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Dec 2000
    Posts
    3,968
    Country
    This is Dale's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    07:43
    Originally posted by Wiglaf
    Odd that you can get George Patton (great general) is born in Berlin
    Unfortunately, you can't have civ-specific GP's.

  17. #17
    Harrier UK
    Warlord
    Join Date
    21 Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    264
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 27, 2014
    Local Time
    21:43
    Originally posted by Dale
    It's more for the war board-game grognards (like myself) from the 1980's.
    Thats why I recognised them - brings back memories of all those S&T mags with board games in them.

    Keep them in, it makes the game different. Those players not used to them, will soon get to recognise what they represent.


    Unfortunately, you can't have civ-specific GP's
    Well you can - but it is a lot of work to do it.

    The Total Realism mod have done it for all their civs. Do not know if that part of the mod has been released as a seperate component though.
    "What if somebody gave a war and nobody came?" Allen Ginsberg

    "Opinions are like arses, everyone has one." Anon

Similar Threads

  1. adding techs with new icons
    By Gregol in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 25, 2002, 10:01
  2. Add techs/units?
    By Dhaeman in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 11, 2001, 23:37
  3. New techs, but no new units...
    By Kaak in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 31, 2001, 13:31
  4. New units/ Techs
    By Visaggio in forum Scenario League / Civ2-Creation -Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 13, 2000, 16:32
  5. Units, icons....
    By Eyn in forum Scenario League / Civ2-Creation -Archive
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: March 6, 2000, 18:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions