Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pollution Bug?

  1. #1
    peerless
    Settler
    Join Date
    05 Aug 1999
    Location
    Washington, DC 20008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Question Pollution Bug?

    I've been playing the extended original game (my spaceship landed 10 years ago) and keep getting a bigger and bigger pollution penalty on my score even when I don't have any polluted squares--the penalty is now up to 120! I have lots of solar plants but I'm beginning to wonder if I have to worry about global warming. This has happened to me before (but not to this extent...has anyone else had this problem?

  2. #2
    Nico
    Settler
    Join Date
    09 Oct 1999
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Post

    I had the same problem. Even after having cleaned all the pollution, my pollution level stayed at the maximum and I had lots of global warming. Very annoying!

  3. #3
    tobyr
    Prince
    Join Date
    19 Oct 1999
    Location
    Princeton, NJ USA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Question

    I've been assuming that the pollution indicator also includes pollution caused by the Ai tribes. Am I incorrect? If I'm right, that could be the cause of your pollution.

    - toby


    ------------------
    toby robison
    [email protected]

  4. #4
    peerless
    Settler
    Join Date
    05 Aug 1999
    Location
    Washington, DC 20008
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Post

    At least in the original Civ II, AI-generated pollution isn't supposed to count except when they nuke you. Maybe in Test of Time they changed that rule, but I certainly didn't see any pollution in AI territory. By the time I discovered Transcendence (2 turns after I was warned of oncoming global warming, there wasn't much AI territory left and the pollution indicator on the score was stuck at -120 even when there were no polluted squares visible.

  5. #5
    tobyr
    Prince
    Join Date
    19 Oct 1999
    Location
    Princeton, NJ USA
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Post

    I ran a quick test with the ToT fantasy game, enabling cheat mode, polluting some squares and retiring. Polluted squares in other Ai cities, or outside city limits, were not counted, as Peerless expected.

    - toby


    ------------------
    toby robison
    [email protected]

  6. #6
    John D Ward
    Chieftain John D Ward's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    05:31

    Post

    In the Midgard scenario, I ended up with a score of +20 for pollution. Is this another bug? I thought your pollution score would always be negative or zero.

  7. #7
    Hasdrubal
    Prince Hasdrubal's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 May 2000
    Location
    Carthage.
    Posts
    363
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 23, 2014
    Local Time
    04:31

    Post

    I repeatedly get a higher pollution number than should be the case, in the extended game. (Version 1.1 to be sure). The AI doesn't count the number of polluted squares correctly. I don't care about the score, but I do about global warming.
    Please fix this in the next patch, if this is really a bug.

    ------------------
    Hasdrubal's Home.
    Ceterum censeo Romam esse delendam.

  8. #8
    DarthVeda
    Prince DarthVeda's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Dec 1969
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    573
    Country
    This is DarthVeda's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    October 22, 2014
    Local Time
    23:31

    Question

    I have a bet... MPS changed the rules for pollution from Pollution Squares to the units of pollution in a city. So if you have pollution still in the city, your pollution will still increase.

Similar Threads

  1. Pollution
    By meimei in forum Call to Power 1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 12, 2002, 13:03
  2. Pollution!!!
    By meimei in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: August 8, 2002, 15:47
  3. Pollution Bug
    By luegner in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 30, 2002, 14:58
  4. Pollution Fix
    By opaque in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 26, 2001, 15:03
  5. Pollution On/Off?
    By joey802 in forum CtP2-General/Help/Strategy/Multiplaying-Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 20, 2000, 13:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions