Register or Log In to remove the ads!

  1. #1

    Join Date
    24 Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21

    No Open borders but enemy units on my lands...

    Hi,
    couldn't find it reported already but something really strange is happening in my game right now:

    I have no open border agreements. Still there's an Incan unit moving on my lands as if we had one! It's a Quechan or so - their replacement of the warrior. And it's extremely high level - Level 4 it seems...

    Ideas?

    Serge

  2. #2
    vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,164
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 26, 2016
    Local Time
    19:21
    Check on F4 and see if you are at war. If not post a save.

  3. #3
    Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    26 Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    They just started a war. Did not the game say that if you landed in another Civ's territory without Open Borders, you hare just started a -- War!

    Unless the Incas want a -- call -- from you just to amuse you with what the Leader is doing.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    30 Oct 2005
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    ive had the same thing happen , im not at war but another civ's unit is moving in my territory

  5. #5
    clarkcd's Avatar
    Join Date
    14 Feb 2004
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 26, 2016
    Local Time
    17:21
    I've seen that happen once so far. Hit the turn button and he was forced out. Not sure how it happened to begin with since it wasn't a captured city or anything like that.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    07 Dec 2001
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 26, 2016
    Local Time
    17:21
    Did a border expand around him during the turn?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    24 Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    nope... not at war. That's what I was guessing too.

    Hitting the turn button didn't help either, the guy actually moved around in my territory for a few turns. Unfortunately I just gave up - was in a horrible position anyway - and have no savegame.

    Well, seems to be a bug others encountered as well... If it happens to me again I'll post the savegame.

    Serge

  8. #8

    Join Date
    24 Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    just happened again... enemy troops on my territory without open borders. sure they declare war the very next turn but they shouldn't have gotten there in the first place.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Imminence's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2005
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    Normally it works like this:

    You have open border; your troops stand infront of your neighbour's capital; you declare war; your troops are immediately forced back to your terrain.

    You have no open border; you get a border expand; troops of other players are immediately pushed back behind the new frontierlines.

    So I guess, that the wandering Inka is not meant to be there.

    Example: Once I had open borders and became more and more pissed about dozens of aimlessly wandering warriors/explorers/spearmen of some underdevelopped AIs. I cancelled the open border agreement and all were pushed out of my country in the same second.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    24 Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    yeah, I know this but for some reason it doesn't happen in all cases.

  11. #11
    Proteus_MST's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Dec 2001
    Location
    Yuggoth
    Posts
    3,944
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    02:21
    After all I observed so far it happens only if the other civilization had no prior contact to your civilization, i.e. if this unit within your borders was the reason why the first contact to the other civilization was established.
    It seems like this unit is then able to move freely within your cultural borders like it had an open borders treaty until it leaves them (afterwards it wouldnīt be able to reenter them as long as you havenīt established open borders to the civ).

    I think, that the calculations (war/peace/open borders) only start after establishing contact to a civilization and that any unit already present within your borders prior to first contact isnīt part of these calculations until it leaves your borders.
    If anyone shall despise those who out of faith make love-feasts and invite the brethren in honour of the Lord, and is not willing to accept these invitations because he despises what is done, let him be anathema.
    Canon 11, Council of Gangra (340 AD)

  12. #12

    Join Date
    24 Apr 2004
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    Originally posted by Proteus_MST
    After all I observed so far it happens only if the other civilization had no prior contact to your civilization, i.e. if this unit within your borders was the reason why the first contact to the other civilization was established.
    Interesting idea - I didn't check for that but don't think that was the case here. Actually I'm not sure this should be possible at all: If I establish a new city and there's a unit within the new borders, the unit is being pushed away. If my borders expand the same happens. So in theory there cannot be an unit on my territory without open borders. This is quite annoying because in the first case this was a Level 4 unit which easily eliminated every defender I was able to build.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    14 Oct 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    595
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 26, 2016
    Local Time
    20:21
    How do you not get prior contact without getting itnot the border? As soon as a unit is in spotting range of the city, OR if I am wandering around and see the border of anthour city, I get into contact with the leader.

    You always seem to be into contact with the other leader about 1(or is it 2) tiles away from the border before the unit can into the borders, so I don't think your reason of thinking can be correct.

    I can be wrong but I always noticed this so I don't think that a unit can get into the other person's borders without contact being made.

  14. #14
    Imminence's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2005
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    June 27, 2016
    Local Time
    00:21
    Anyway, in CIV 4 the behaviour of other troops is much better than in all other CIVs, where my main task was, to contact leaders and ask them to remove their troops. Sometimes they did, just to send them back and make them aimlessly running around for another time.

    In CIV 4 they seem to be able to respect treaties and borders.

Similar Threads

  1. Another Open Borders Bug... right?
    By OzzyKP in forum Civilization V: General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 7, 2010, 00:52
  2. Open Borders
    By Dominae in forum C4DG Gathering Storm
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: January 25, 2006, 11:56
  3. does open borders come too soon?
    By vmxa1 in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 3, 2005, 12:08
  4. open borders
    By morismichael in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 2, 2005, 04:08
  5. Taking 'some fight' into the enemy's lands
    By zeit in forum C3PtWDG Gathering Storm
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: August 7, 2003, 06:28

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in