Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Master of Orion II mods: An overview

  1. #1
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23

    Master of Orion II mods: An overview

    Master of Orion II mods: An overview

    This is a list of all Moo2 mods I am aware of. Please add a comment when you know further mods. I will try to update this list.
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  2. #2
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    I have a few new map mods......

    http://masteroforion2.blogspot.com/2.../map-mods.html

    We have tested the orange mod in some games....seems to be more balanced.
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  3. #3
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    Difficult Choice Mod b5

    Details: http://masteroforion2.blogspot.com/2...icemod-b5.html

    Some tables (click them to enlarge):

    TechTable


    TechChanges


    RacePicks
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  4. #4
    vmxa1
    Deity vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,163
    Country
    This is vmxa1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    03:23
    Siron have you run into this on your forum:

    Memory Corruption" val=2. shipid ==26912, owner==0 stardate=35000

    I get this now when I try to open the ship leader interface. It happens regardless if I do anything beofre or not. I deleted the whole install and installed fresh, but no luck.

    I have been using Moo2 on this system for a long time, never had any problems. I tried with or without Moslo.

  5. #5
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    I have never heard about this error message. (But this crash could be a CTD without error message on other hardware.)

    But what version has this problem? 1.31 (dos or win), 1.4b23 or some mod? Or all versions?
    Have you started a new game after reinstall? Autosave could be corrupted.
    You mean the ship leader screen? Do you enter from leader or fleet screen?

    I have observed some CTDs when you enter the fleet screen. A well known bug in 1.31 MP games was the CTD when you enter the leader screen and you had no ship. (Fixed by LordBrazen already.)

    Some of his earlier 1.4 patches had some problem with this screen in combination with the noorion switch. But afaik that is also fixed since 1.4b19.
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  6. #6
    vmxa1
    Deity vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,163
    Country
    This is vmxa1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    03:23
    It is window version at 131. I was just looking at the colony andthenthe leader screen. I knew there coudl be no leaders as it was prewarp before I had even taken a turn.

    It was fine with the colony leader screen, but dies on ship leader. It does not happen on my Win98 system as I tried it. Maybe it has been there all the time and I just never click on that screen prior to getting a scout.

    I doubt that is the case, but I cannot swear to it. It is a no msg and straight to the desktop.

    I have seen ctd's under a number of condition, usually with one planet or another. I guess I will try it with waiting until I get a ship.

  7. #7
    vmxa1
    Deity vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,163
    Country
    This is vmxa1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    03:23
    I tried it with waiting until I got a scout up and it did not crash. So I am not sure if this has been this way for a long time or just since I got a new video card when civ4 came out.

  8. #8
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    Yes, prolly related to your new video card.

    1.4 would fix the problem I guess.
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  9. #9
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    Another update :

    http://masteroforion2.blogspot.com/2...icemod-b6.html

    What's new in this betaversion?

    There were still a few hangovers from old approaches to solve the morale and bombs problems of Moo2. Special thanks to Cabman who played this mod a lot and pointed out a few problems. I cleaned up a bit:

    a) Missiles have their old 1.31 values now. Since I upgraded the planetary shields in DCb5 there is no longer a reason to reduce the missile damage generally.
    b) Anti-matter Torpedoes have also an increased damage of 13 now. A flux shield and Shield Class V combination is enough to neutralize overloaded torpedoes then.
    c) I liked Cybersaber's mod idea but Structural Analyzers were too attractive in the early tech field compared to EMG. A further reason why missiles where unpopular in DCb5. Nevertheless, I think it is possible now to tech SA in its old 1.31 techfield since there is an additional substitute for the cybercomp (mole and improved mole).
    d) No longer early Powered Armor. Psionics moved up in b5 and so did Powered Armor now.
    e) PPs of Robotic Factory are reduced to 100.
    f) There is a new approach with respect to race pick costs. There are still up to 10 negative picks possible. But if you use them all there are up to 40 positive race picks you can spend now (instead of 20 picks in 1.31)

    Some tables (click them to enlarge):

    TechTable


    TechChanges


    RacePickScreen


    RacePickOverview (positive picks are divided by 2)
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  10. #10
    vmxa1
    Deity vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,163
    Country
    This is vmxa1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    03:23
    Amazing to see work still being done, even though I never use mods in my games. I like to see what others are up to.

  11. #11
    siron
    Prince siron's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Apr 2004
    Posts
    332
    Country
    This is siron's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    08:23
    Thanks.....

    sadly, this forum looks a bit inactive now.....btw....have u tried the sword of the stars demo already?
    "Football is like chess, only without the dice." Lukas Podolski

  12. #12
    vmxa1
    Deity vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,163
    Country
    This is vmxa1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    December 20, 2014
    Local Time
    03:23
    No, I am not very handy with 3d flying games like HomeWorld. I still have not gotten around to Heroes V.

Similar Threads

  1. Any mods for Master of Orion 2?
    By Jagdtiger in forum Other Games
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 25, 2004, 22:21
  2. Master of orion 3
    By d=me in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 30, 2004, 00:59
  3. Master of Orion But...NO Ancient Orion?
    By Akideoni in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24, 2003, 20:51
  4. Master of Orion 3 - What went right?
    By H Tower in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: March 2, 2003, 02:33
  5. Master of orion II like civ?
    By Father Beast in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: June 23, 2000, 20:32

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions