Register or Log In to remove the ads!

  1. #1

    Join Date
    07 Nov 2001
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    14:25

    Exclamation Changing/Modifying values of Picks in MOO2

    Recently we have begun playing MOO2 after a long lull.

    Does anyone know of a program, editor, or trainer that can modify the point values of the various "picks" when choosing/building a custom race?

    In other words, is there a way to alter the numbers to make some of the choices less costly pointwise.

    It has been about 6 Years since we last installed M002, so any assistance will be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    25 Dec 2003
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    18:25
    PickHack is best. Backup ur original racestuf.lbx first ! What picks u plan to change ?

    PK
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3

    Join Date
    07 Nov 2001
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    14:25

    Smile

    P-K,

    Thanks for the information and awesome program!

    We are trying to beef up our custom race to be more competitive against the computer foes. After playing MOO3, MOO2 seems a much more challenging and formidable opponent!

    Does changing the custom race data allow the computer similiar advantages in "picking" or "fortifying" its races, or do these changes only affect our custom race?

    Thanks again for your prompt and informative post!

    Unlike many MOO2 hacks, this one has a windows interface and works superbly.

  4. #4
    vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,164
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    14:25
    No need to do that, just use one of the many strong races.


    Unification government
    Tolerant, +1 production, large
    Aquatic, +1 production, +50% growth, rich, large
    Aquatic, subterranean, +50% growth or +1 production
    Subterranean, +1 food, +1 production, large
    Creative, aquatic, large
    Aquatic, omniscient, artifacts, rich, large
    Aquatic, telepathic, rich, large

    Democracy government
    Lithovore, rich, large
    Aquatic, +1 BC
    Creative, aquatic

    Regular government
    Subterranean, Lithovore, +50% growth, large
    Subterranean, aquatic, +100% growth, rich, large
    Tolerant, Lithovore
    Tolerant, +1 food, +2 production
    Aquatic, +100% growth, +2 production, rich, large
    Creative, aquatic, +1 production, artifacts, large
    Creative, Lithovore, rich
    Telepathic, Lithovore, artifacts, large
    Telepathic, feudal, aquatic, rich, +50 ship offense, omniscient

  5. #5

    Join Date
    12 May 2004
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    18:25
    Has anyone had the game screw up after you modify the values? I used it once and it worked fine, but now I can't pick custom with out the game crashing. I tried to replace racestuf.lbx but that didn't solve the problem.

  6. #6
    Whoha's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    The TOC is supposed to be classified guys...
    Posts
    3,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    13:25
    also you can edit the save file to make your uber race. +100 bonus to food production/industry/science with all the good traits.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    15 Jun 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    18:25
    If you make a custom race with too many picks, the game will remember this, and crash the game the next time you pick "custom race." This might be your problem, Moo2hack.

    If that's the problem, go to your Moo2 folder, and delete the file "lastrace.rac".

  8. #8

    Join Date
    28 Feb 2003
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    18:25
    PickHack is best. Backup ur original racestuf.lbx first ! What picks u plan to change ?

    also you can edit the save file to make your uber race. +100 bonus to food production/industry/science with all the good traits.

    Any way this can be done with a Mac?

  9. #9
    Whoha's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    The TOC is supposed to be classified guys...
    Posts
    3,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    13:25
    If Corion 2 doesn't work with the mac then you'd need to get the save file format from somewhere and write your own program for it. I could probably do that, provided that the save file formats are the same for both versions(probably are).

  10. #10
    Whoha's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Dec 2001
    Location
    The TOC is supposed to be classified guys...
    Posts
    3,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    13:25
    erm to clarify, I could get you the save file format information that you'd want, not write the program, I don't have a compiler that will work for macs.

  11. #11
    Solarius Scorch's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Feb 2011
    Location
    Cracow
    Posts
    181
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    19:25
    PickHack and other popular tools for "modding" MoO 2 don't seem to work under Win7. :/
    Can anyone confirm this, or there's something wrong with my machine/my game copy/myself?

  12. #12
    vmxa1's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Nov 2001
    Location
    Oviedo, Fl
    Posts
    14,164
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    August 25, 2016
    Local Time
    14:25
    Never used PickHack, but if it is an old Win95 type app, it won't work in Win7. If it is a Dos app, then you should be able to get it to work in DosBox.

Similar Threads

  1. Modifying and Hex editing MOO2
    By AvA_Majestic in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 3, 2004, 11:33
  2. Changing the rules of MOO2?
    By Colon™ in forum Master of Orion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: March 13, 2004, 22:43
  3. Changing the rules of MOO2?
    By Colon™ in forum Other Games-Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 9, 2004, 17:10
  4. Civilopedia Values vs Unit Table values
    By tonyhaug in forum Civ3-General-Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 7, 2001, 08:16
  5. Need help changing movement values for units
    By Mog'Dug in forum CtP2-Creation/AI/Mods/Scenarios-Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 28, 2000, 18:03

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in