Yet Another Computer Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet Another Computer Thread

Last year I did my first build, which worked out very well. Now one of my friends has asked for my help in designing and building one for him.

Since I'm still relatively new to this, I want to run things by the crowd here to make sure I'm not leading him astray. Here's what we've picked out so far:

Intel Core i7 2600

Gigabyte GA-H67MA-USB3-B3 LGA 1155 H67 mATX Intel Motherboard

XFX HD685XZNBC AMD Radeon HD 6850 Black Edition 1024MB GDDR5 PCIe 2.1 x16 Video Card

Corsair XMS 8GB DDR3-1333 (PC3-10666) CL9 Dual Channel Desktop Memory Kit (Two 4GB Memory Modules)

WD Caviar Black 1TB 7,200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive WD1002FAEX - OEM

OCZ Technology Solid 3 60GB SLD3-25SAT3-60G SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with SandForce 2281 Controller

Sony AD-7260S 24X SATA Internal DVD Burner - OEM

Corsair Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650 Watt ATX Power Supply

AZZA Toledo 310 Mid Tower ATX Case

I guess the parts I'm most unsure about are the solid state drive (since I opted not to have one in my computer, so I don't know who the good manufacturers are) and the graphics card (the Radeon 6850 looks to be at a pretty sweet spot as far as price v. performance goes, but I'm not sure).

This all works out to about $1,000ish right now, and he's not looking to spend too much more than that.

As always, the help is appreciated.

A quick look through and I think you made some excellent choices.

I'm not totally sure on the SSD either, as I've not looked into that.

AnandTech has a great SSD "bench" app where you can compare most SSDs in various benchmarks: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/SSD/65
    "The issue is there are still many people out there that use religion as a crutch for bigotry and hate. Like Ben."
    Ben Kenobi: "That means I'm doing something right. "

Comment