Setting up a Server with Microsoft Server

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up a Server with Microsoft Server

I'll admit, I have never done this before, nothing much like it at all. Which I am a little ashamed to say. I guess it's one of those things you only need when you REALLY need one.

I have been appointed to set up a server in the office.

My budget is $7500.

What is the best way to do it and what software and hardware do I need?

A guy has recommended me an HP server with Microsoft Server 2003, but I thought there was a much later version than 2003. And what does MS Server actually allow me to do? Are there any other applications - server wise - that an office would find useful, for example, Emails, File Transfer, Databases. Would I need additional special software for these kind of things?

At the moment, I can only think of two primary reasons we would use a server for, 1 is for backup and 2 is for emails (accessing outlook from anywhere, I forget the exact name of the MS app).

Cheers for any help
    be free

Where to start.

It's called Windows Server, not Microsoft Server. 2003 is based on Windows XP, 2008 is based on Windows Vista.

It comes with file transfer and web server support.

You'd need an email server (if you want to stick MS, the industry standard is Microsoft Exchange Server), and a database server. There's many, many of them. MS' is called Microsoft SQL Server and the latest is 2008.
    "The issue is there are still many people out there that use religion as a crutch for bigotry and hate. Like Ben."
    Ben Kenobi: "That means I'm doing something right. "

Comment

Thanks.

Can Microsoft Exchange Server be installed on the back of Microsoft Server 2008? I don't want two damn servers!

Is it worth getting 2008 or 2003?
      be free

Comment

Windows Server is the OS.

Database servers, exchange servers, etc are just applications that run in the Server OS.