Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Apprentice Dip Fall 1901 Results

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • SnowFire
    replied
    If it's before the deadline, you can ALWAYS change your moves. Don't ever feel locked in.

    And since Winter results haven't been posted yet... it's before the deadline!

    Leave a comment:


  • Shadowstrike
    replied
    Wait. Can I change that Berlin Army to a Kiel Fleet? Or am I too late? I'm posting this here to so that you may read it.

    Leave a comment:


  • SnowFire
    replied
    HsFB: Read part II of the tutorial agian, if you haven't already.
    www.geocities.com/myrdred_ii/tutorial-2.html

    It should explain, with lots of examples, all the vagaries of movement. If you have any questions, just make sure to ask them, like you've been doing.

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    Shadowstrike, Winter Builds come first.

    Leave a comment:


  • LordStone1
    replied
    Well, well aren't Ruffhaus and I being very helpful? The first question, I posted 1 minute ahead of him. The second question, we post at the same time.

    Hmm, who is better? Huh?

    Leave a comment:


  • LordStone1
    replied
    No, you don't announce that you are being supported by another player. For one, why would you want others to know? Second, you can't dictate another player's moves. Ultimately, it is up to the other player to make the support order.

    The best you can do is ask him to write the support order, order your own unit to move, and threaten him with extinction if he disobeys your trust.

    Welcome to your baptism of fire.

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    No, you do not need to announce that you are receiving support. Generally, you PRAY that you are receiving support from the player who promised it to you!

    Leave a comment:


  • Shadowstrike
    replied
    When are Spring Moves due?

    Leave a comment:


  • N35t0r
    replied
    so i DO need to announce i'm being supported by another player, right.

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest replied
    HsFB, It is possibile to support another nation's move. Say you are playing England for this example. The proper way to write such an order is:

    F North Atlantic Ocean supports French F Brest - Mid Atlantic Ocean

    Now, assuming that the French player is actually writes the associated movement order your support will be valid. And assuming that there is no other movement into the Mid Atlantic with a strength of 2 or more units, the French move would then succeed.

    Leave a comment:


  • LordStone1
    replied
    Of course you can.

    To support a player's move, your unit must be adjacent to the destination of that move.

    Say, you're France, with A Bur, and you want to support a German move from Berlin to Munich, you go,

    FRANCE:
    A Bur S (German) A Ber-Mun

    However, you cannot support a unit that is leaving the province adjacent to your unit. So, you can't order:

    A Bur S (German) A Mun-Ber

    Because Burgundy does not border Berlin, the destination.

    In another case, you can simply support a unit to stay right where it is. If A Munich wants to stay, you order,

    A Bur S (German) A Mun

    HOWEVER, if A Mun moves anyway, then your support is invalid (even if Munich goes to Ruhr, which also borders Burgundy) because your support does not specify the destination of the unit, if any.

    Now, remember, if anyone attacks A Bur (even if ANOTHER unit, like A Mar or A Gas is supporting A Bur to hold), then the support is broken.

    F: A Bur S (German) A Ber-Mun
    G: A Ber-Mun
    E: A Par-Bur

    England's move to Burgundy breaks the French unit's support for the German move to Munich. Keep in mind that A Bur is not dislodged or anything, only its support has been broken.

    NOW, here's the real mindboggler. You cannot break the support of a unit attacking you.

    E: A Par-Bur
    G: A Ruh S (English) A Par-Bur
    F: A Bur-Ruh

    Look at these moves, it looks like you would break the German support for the English attack on Burgundy. But because of the above rule, the support is NOT broken, and your unit in Burgundy is dislodged (or even worse, destroyed when no possible retreats exist).

    Confused yet?
    [This message has been edited by LordStone1 (edited August 15, 2000).]

    Leave a comment:


  • N35t0r
    replied
    It IS possible to support another player's move, right?

    Leave a comment:


  • LordStone1
    replied
    The proper build syntax is probably this:

    Germany builds:
    F Ber
    A Kie

    That's it.

    Leave a comment:


  • Shadowstrike
    replied
    Were those orders acceptable? (Alas, I don't know the proper build syntex )

    Leave a comment:


  • Shadowstrike
    replied
    I'm having problems with my email account. In the meantime, can I please use my hotmail account? Its dark_templar_25@hotmail.com

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X