Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner in Civ III

Hi everybody,
    I'm new in civ3 (only my 4th game), but I seem to meet each time the same problem : I grow quite easily ahead of the pack, install governors in some cities, but then it seem they begin to make alliances without declaring war to me... and I lose my advantage. What I would like is being able to declare war before to extend my territory enough in order to dominate the world... how should I pursue that strategy ? Shifting from Democracy to any other government makes me turn into anarchy, is it worth trying ? Which government then ?
    Thanks for the hints (probably I would find the right answer somewhere in the 1000's of threads... but I haven't had time to read much yet)...

You did not mention the level of the game and is this CivIII or PTW? For a non religous civ, I would prefer to go to Republic and never switch again. Now you can fight some fairly long wars, as long as you do not start them. If you start them, then you need to end them sooner.
    One way to start a war is to planet a spy. Another would be to sent units into their land (if you do not have RoP). You could make demands or lopsided trades to get them mad.
    I am not fond of making RoP or MPP. I will use alliances instead as they expire and do not force you to jump into other wars.

Comment

Too add to vmxa-

Start as a religious civ, Egypt is a great one to start out as, that way only one turn of anarchy, so war weariness is less of a problem.

Why aren't you declaring war on the ai, becuase they are all allied? Well, if that's the case, try to get alliances yourself. One fun thing I do is to, on the first turn of the war, cross the borders and attack. After attacking, I'll try to bribe his neighbors into attacking him, to draw off his forces, and bribing my neighbors, so they won't attack me. A tech or two or some gold will do wonders.