Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Girls get extra school help while boys get Ritalin

Affirmative action for girls?

"I work in IT so I'd be buggered without a computer" - Words of wisdom from Provost Harrison
    "You can be wrong AND jewish" - Wiglaf :love:

Comment

equal shmequal

It's not about equality. It's about total domination.
      “It is no use trying to 'see through' first principles. If you see through everything, then everything is transparent. But a wholly transparent world is an invisible world. To 'see through' all things is the same as not to see.”

― C.S. Lewis, The Abolition of Man

Comment

ah, let the girls take over. means THEY have to goto work to keep US, THEY have to sort the spiders out, all we need to do is keep the house clean. THEY still even have to have babies (poor girls)
        eimi men anthropos pollon logon, mikras de sophias

Comment

Last April, when Kenneth Dragseth, superintendent of schools in Edina, Minn., presented a paper describing his district's gender gap at the American Educational Research Association's annual meeting in Chicago, he says the reception ranged from chilly to hostile. Female education researchers in the audience questioned whether helping boys would mean hurting girls.
          Right, because educating the genders is a zero sum game.
          Tutto nel mondo è burla

Comment

From my experience with my daughter and her friends from first through tenth grades, now going into eleventh, the gap is largely one of work ethic and attitude, even in the same family. The kids who do the best (and yeah, a majority are girls) get into their homework before they do their own fun stuff, and they consistently spend more time studying and working their asses off.

The relatively few boys who equal or exceed their performance generally work as hard as the girls.

The kids (of both genders) who don't do as well generally, but not exclusively, don't put the effort in.