Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help Rufus shave...Come back here! I didn't mean it literally!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Rufus shave...Come back here! I didn't mean it literally!

I know, I know: a boy is supposed to learn to shave at his father's side. And I did, but Dad was an electric razor man, and that's what I've been using for the last 25 years. But on a recent trip to the States I forgot my razor, and had to buy disposable blades and some shaving cream and do it the old fashioned way. Now I'm hooked, but perplexed. Are you really supposed to use a disposable once and throw it away? Even those expensive triple-balde disposables? If not, how long are they good for? Do you really need after-shave? Can something like the Gilette Mach3, which seems to combine expensiveness and wastefulness in an extremely counter-intuitive fashion, really be worth it?

Please, I'm begging. Help make a man out of me.
    "I have as much authority as the pope. I just don't have as many people who believe it." — George Carlin

No idea. I am using a Gilette Sensor Excel, but I usually use the blade for about at least 10 times before I consider throwing it away. I also have a bottle of aftershave that I rarely use.
    (\__/) 07/07/1937 - Never forget
    (='.'=) "Claims demand evidence; extraordinary claims demand extraordinary evidence." -- Carl Sagan
    (")_(") "Starting the fire from within."

Comment

Generally speaking, once the bloody thing gets so hopelessly clogged with bristle that I can't use it anymore, I pitch it, and not before...but then again, I'm cheap. As for aftershave, well, try going without it and see for yourself. If your face feels like you've been using sandpaper as a washcloth, you need aftershave. It depends how rough you are on your own face, to some extent what shaving cream you are using, and so on.