Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 13 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 501

Thread: UTILITY: Civ3MultiTool - Unofficial Civilization 3 editor (third thread)

  1. #61
    sabrewolf
    Emperor sabrewolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Jun 2002
    Location
    turicum, helvetistan
    Posts
    9,852
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    do you mean CPT or to you mean your CMT?
    and what do you mean with base units?
    - Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity
    - Atheism is a nonprophet organization.

  2. #62
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    Originally posted by sabrewolf
    do you mean CPT or to you mean your CMT?
    and what do you mean with base units?
    I mean I can upgrade CPT, as it uses parts of the save that is not very large changes too, I just don't think it's needed. However too upgrade C3MT I'll need those saves using other time settings. The base unit of time can be set in scenarioproperties to either years (default) months or weeks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  3. #63
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    I think I'll be able to get a new version of C3MT with unfinished support for PTW in it ready soon, however I still need to do some more testings of other changhes and see if I shall revert one change or not.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  4. #64
    Yahweh Sabaoth
    King Yahweh Sabaoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2002
    Location
    The Heavens
    Posts
    1,167
    Country
    This is Yahweh Sabaoth's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    01:57
    Originally posted by Gramphos
    I think I'll be able to get a new version of C3MT with unfinished support for PTW in it ready soon, however I still need to do some more testings of other changhes and see if I shall revert one change or not.
    Don't make us wait until Christmas.

  5. #65
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    0.98.1
    - Bug with MAP-data for BIXfiles corrected. Note: Earlier corrupted files can NOT be loaded or corrected. If you really need to correct a file I have to do it myself.
    - SGE: Playerspecific Difficultylevels can now be changed. (These affect for example the citizens born content)
    - SGE: A Civilization's governments can now be edited.
    - SGE: The remaining transition time can now be edited
    - SGE: Mobilization setting can now be edited
    - SGE: Beaker estimation now gets same result when you select a Civ as when you set the tech to research.
    - SGE: PTW saves shall now be editable in untested features mode
    - Optimized the handling of PCX-files a bit.
    - Speeded up decompression by using a dll instead of an exe
    - Bug with CopyTool mapstats causing the tool to crash if map-only big were used corrected.


    Other then that I shall tell you that the changes under the hod are more, and that there are a few things still waiting to be finished for the next release, but I decided to release this untested version with some PTW saves support rather then have you wait two more weeks for a feature not related to the PTW upgrade, but to the general program.

    Note: 0.98 stays the version the updater tells you about.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  6. #66
    Asmodean
    Emperor Asmodean's Avatar
    Join Date
    22 Aug 1999
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    3,646
    Country
    This is Asmodean's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    Thanks, man. Sounds promising.

    Asmodean
    Im not sure what Baruk Khazad is , but if they speak Judeo-Dwarvish, that would be "blessed are the dwarves" - lord of the mark

  7. #67
    player1
    Emperor player1's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    3,218
    Country
    This is player1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    Now, the thing that scenario makes would reallly enjoy having would be saved games editor which would allow DIPLOMACY editing (for PtW of course).

  8. #68
    sabrewolf
    Emperor sabrewolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Jun 2002
    Location
    turicum, helvetistan
    Posts
    9,852
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    for scenarios you wouldn't want a save game editor, but a bix-editor. and i don't know if there is a functioning DIPL part. in fact i doubt it, because otherwise it wouldn't be so hard for firaxis to extend the editor in a patch...

    but if god... uh gramphos () does it for the SGE, it still would be great
    - Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity
    - Atheism is a nonprophet organization.

  9. #69
    player1
    Emperor player1's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    3,218
    Country
    This is player1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    At this point (1.14) BIX files have no support for starting diplomacy (so BIX editor would not help), while saves do.

    So technicly only way to place starting diplomacy is to place it in saved game.

  10. #70
    sabrewolf
    Emperor sabrewolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    10 Jun 2002
    Location
    turicum, helvetistan
    Posts
    9,852
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    which makes you have to limit your scenarios to a few participants and make a savegame for each playable civ ==> solveable, but inconvenient
    - Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity
    - Atheism is a nonprophet organization.

  11. #71
    player1
    Emperor player1's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2001
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    3,218
    Country
    This is player1's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    03:57
    true

    At least until Firaxis does something to fix that.

  12. #72
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    Have there been any errors with that version and default rules PTW games?
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  13. #73
    wotan321
    Warlord wotan321's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 May 2001
    Location
    Nowheresville, Man
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 21, 2014
    Local Time
    20:57

    bug report on PTW saves

    I really appreciate your work on this program.

    I am getting an error message when I try to run the SGE on a PTW saved game.

    I have checked the box to allow untested features.

    I click on the Savegame editor. It comes up, and I click on Load to pull up the saved game. When I choose a saved game, I get the following error window:

    Unknown Version

    When I click on the Okay button, I get a second pop-up error:

    Error while listing levels: object variable or With block variable not set.

    In the C3MT.LOG file, I find the error:
    Bad file name or number (52) at Startup.

    I am running Windows XP Pro.
    PTW v. 1.14f (I think....whatever the most recent before 1.21)

    I installed the full download for CMT, it was .96.
    I then copied over the update for .98.1 (though it calls itself .98)

    Is there a solution to this that will allow the SGE to work with PTW files?

    Again, thanks for all your hard work on this program.
    Question Authority.......with mime...

  14. #74
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    It shall not call itself anyting but 0.98.1. Note that it isn't the file in the first post but the one in my post earlier in this thread.

    Does anyone else have similar problems?
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  15. #75
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    Oh, and if this PTW functionallity turns out to work I might actally be able to extend the MT with yet another family member for the next version. (It's been under constructioon for a long while, and the enginee of the converter is almost fully functional now. However I still need a UI)

    Have taken the UCW interface and started cleared it out creating a new wizard form it for map converting. Note that this image is just about 5 minutes in to the UI development, but I don't think I'll work on it more right now... First I need to know if it's how you want it, or if you want anything else. Also the options viewn in the screen needs to be taken in concideration. Are any more options needed, or are they fine as they are written now (None of them work yet, as I haven't connected it to the actual conversion code.)?

    I'm going on a vacation for about a week now, and I'm not gotin to work on this more before after that, and after some other programming work stacking up in front of me.

    As I've said I've had C3MT on low priority for long time development for a while, and this new tool part is a perfect example of things I've been working with now ande then, when I'm not diggin into the save format or playing the game.

    And finally: The mapconverter weas made possible thanks to Jorrit Vermeiren decoding of MP files
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  16. #76
    wotan321
    Warlord wotan321's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 May 2001
    Location
    Nowheresville, Man
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 21, 2014
    Local Time
    20:57
    Gramphos,

    Regarding the version I mentioned in my bug report post a few posts back.... I upgraded with the file c3mt0-98-1.zip. Is this the correct version? After the upgrade is when I got the error messages.

    Thanks again for any feedback.
    Question Authority.......with mime...

  17. #77
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    Anyone else with simmilar problems?
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  18. #78
    Scourge
    Settler
    Join Date
    06 Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Country
    This is Scourge's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 21, 2014
    Local Time
    18:57
    Hello, i'm new here, and I'm having a problem myself. I have v0.98.1 of the C3MT, running under WinXP, and I'm having a problem that never showed up before. I tried uninstalling the program and reinstalling the earlier version I had been using, and the problem still persisted, so I don't know what is going on. I can bring up the savegame editor, and load a savegame file, but when i click on any of the tabs, i get the error message "Stop Statement Encountered", and the program closes. What's really odd is that it works fine with savegame files from several days ago, but the most recent 4 or 5, from the last couple of days, do not. I wondered at first if my latest savegame had become corrupt, but i doubt that the last 4 or 5 files are all corrupt, and, the savegames load and play fine when i start up Civ3 and try to resume them, and just in case, i played for a few minutes and then saved again, and i had problems with that one, as well. Any ideas? Thanks.

  19. #79
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    It sounds as if you got into some of my debug-code...
    Could you pleace send me one of the saves that gave oyu tihs error?
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  20. #80
    Scourge
    Settler
    Join Date
    06 Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Country
    This is Scourge's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 21, 2014
    Local Time
    18:57
    Gramphos: Okay, i just sent you my latest savegame via email, which is still causing the error, just like the last few. You should receive it in a few minutes. I hope you can remedy the problem and put up another update. Thanks.

  21. #81
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    I've found a possibel error.

    Try placing the c3mt.dll in your Windows\System32 directory.

    There is a stop statement if the function to call the DLL can't be called. I'll change that for the next version.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  22. #82
    Scourge
    Settler
    Join Date
    06 Mar 2003
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Country
    This is Scourge's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 21, 2014
    Local Time
    18:57
    Aha! That did it. It now works fine with no error messages. Actually, i kinda wondered if i needed to put the .dll file in my /Windows/system32 directory or somewhere, since I've solved other software problems by finding the right .dll and putting it in the right place before. Anyhow, thanks a lot, i appreciate your help, especially as prompt as it was.

  23. #83
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    I need to make a new setup program with the next version.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  24. #84
    maciek
    Warlord maciek's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    165
    Country
    This is maciek's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    09:57
    Gramphos: use NSIS at http://nsis.sourceforge.net/ . It's a great installer software, uses very easy scripting language. Quite a lot of features, and looks very professional. Created by people from WinAmp, and it's now open source. I'm using it for the World 2003 Scenario.

    The executable is massive for such a small utility, you may want to compress it with http://upx.sourceforge.net

    Made in VB5?

    Why didn't you program C3MT in Java? That way it would run on MacOS, Linux and Windows.

    Thanks for making this. It doesn't work at all for me (editing ptw1.14f saved games), but it's cool to have it
    Last edited by maciek; March 8, 2003 at 01:09.

  25. #85
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    I currently have a good installer software, it's just that I don't have the time to make a package for every version of the program I release.

    The reson why I choosed to make the program in VB is that it's a langue which you quite quickly can get some results out of. However I admit that using C++ would probably have been a better solution by the size this project has reached, and I'm sure I could have done it, it just would have taken a lot longer, and right now I have no plans to try to fix something that isn't broke. Java could also be good for different platform usage as you say. However is my knowledge of Java is currently not good enough do develop any thing as advance as this tool in it. And in my current state I don't have the ability to learn a new programming language due to time concerns.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  26. #86
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    The map converter interface is now ready...

    Still need an icon thou...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  27. #87
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    Oh, and before I release any non beta version of this tool I'll have to unhardcode a few strings I didn't have time to put in the textfile during the programming.
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  28. #88
    maciek
    Warlord maciek's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    165
    Country
    This is maciek's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    09:57
    Qoute:

    "I currently have a good installer software, it's just that I don't have the time to make a package for every version of the program I release."

    What do you mean? With NSIS for example, you just right click on the install script and click Compile (NSIS is registering its actions with Windows shell). That's all. Of course, it's not going to MAKE the software itself.

    Can you tell me what install software you use? I'd like to try it out for my software.



    I agree, VB is very good for RAD, but as the application is getting more complex, the disadvantages start to come out. BTW, Java is easier to learn than VB I think Well, just my personal opinion.

    If you have any plans to release the source code (make it open source for example), I'm sure there would be a lot of people who would like to port it to Java, or even .NET.

    Can you at least try to port it to VB.NET (I mean in the future, I'm sure you already have enough to do)? That way, it will be possible to run it on other platforms, as .NET is ported to Linux, MacOS, BSD, etc. You'll probably need to change about 10-20% of the code, because VB.NET is slightly different (improved).

    From what I know, the .NET runtime for Windows is available for free, same as C# compiler. I'm not sure about VB.NET compiler though, it's pobably only available with visual studio.net.

    Just my suggestion, no need to reply.

  29. #89
    Gramphos
    Technical Director Gramphos's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Apr 2001
    Location
    Linköping, Sweden
    Posts
    9,304
    Country
    This is Gramphos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    02:57
    The Installer software I use is Samlogic Visual Installer
    Creator of the Civ3MultiTool

  30. #90
    maciek
    Warlord maciek's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    165
    Country
    This is maciek's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    August 22, 2014
    Local Time
    09:57
    Its a pity that the "Demoversioner" is in Svensk only...

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 13 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 488
    Last Post: September 4, 2013, 06:30
  2. UTILITY: SAV Game Editor - TCG
    By hwinkels in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: June 4, 2007, 12:50
  3. UTILITY: Civ3MultiTool - A second thread for the Program ;)
    By Gramphos in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 514
    Last Post: April 24, 2003, 03:04
  4. UTILITY: UnOfficial Civ3 Scenario Editor
    By jimmyh in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: October 5, 2002, 03:45
  5. UTILITY: Civ3MultiTool - A thread for the Program ;)
    By Gramphos in forum Civilization III
    Replies: 636
    Last Post: April 19, 2002, 18:13

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions