loading saved games?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• loading saved games?

being new to this board and, while not new to civilization games, i am new to this ones workings. i seem to be able to save the game, but when i try to load the game back up after a nights rest, it says no such command.... what i get from 'help save' and here on the help files, you type '-f .gz' (.gz because when i type save, it says 'game saved as chris.gz' or somesuch). well seeing that that isnt working and i have scanned thru the other posts and also tryied to open the chat, but cant (i dont have java methinks) i am hoping that this post isnt already on the board.

thnx for any help

edit: also could someone help me out on how to save and load the options i have set? im getting REAL tired of making all the changes each time i start a new game... (being very often hehe)

It sounds to me like you might be better off uninstalling/reinstalling. You should definitely ba able to load a save game, there's an option on the first screen that allows you do that. It should open up with the last game that was saved. Are you saying that it comes up with an error or you don't get the Load Game option?

Also, your options should be saving themselves, or at least most of them. Sounds like something is wrong here to. BTW, do you have PTW or 1.29f, they're a bit different in that dept.

Comment

i have no idea what PTW or 1.29f is, if it is a downloadable update, im going to need to get my brother to do it, i have no idea how this linux setup works... maybe a version #? i think i saw how to see that somewhere, but i dont remember, or if it helps, it came with a recent image file downloaded on a linux page

Comment

It might be that the Linux system is causing your problems, I doubt very much if Civ III was designed for it. You'd probably be better off contacting Infrogrames for help. I don't think you'll find to many people running Linux around here. Though I could be wrong.