ancient age mod

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ancient age mod

I'm just learning how to make mods and scenerios. i've always found the ancient gameplay sorely wanting. This is my favourite period (I've yet to play a CTP game much past musketeers/cannon) and i'd like to create a senerio with mods that treats it in more depth.

I've got several ideas, but i'm starting out trying to make warefare more realistic. Right now i'm trying to make a succession of units that will better represent the evolution of warefare up to the use of gunpowder. I don't want to have to deal with adjusting much past the ancient age, so i've got to stick with attack/defence values from 1-3. the first thing that comes to mind is can I use fractional values? the warrior (who i think should have a DEFINATE advantage over non combat units) has an attack/defence of 10/10 in the settings; can i make that 15/15?

Some problems i want to address:

1) It should of course be possible to take cities with ancient units. If I remember my history correctly, there was a city or two that was successfully taken before the cannon. :P
    2) Walls. Somethings got to be done about walls. The best option would be to put in a new city improvement, an early wall that stops slavers, but has a much smaller defensive bonus, and have the current wall improvement come much later. Is this possible? Is the image of the current wall something editable?
    3) Speaking of slavers, i do NOT like the way they're handled. I'd rather see a non-stealth combat unit, as I don't think cities woke up to find a good percentage of their citisenry missing without knowing how or why. The slaver might be a phalanx equivilent unit with the special forces flag, more expensive both to produce and maintain, but I don't think it should have stealth.