I need advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need advice

And Apolyton has a wide range of professionals in varied fields. So after three years as a software developer I am completely maxed out in my career at this point. I guess I should be happy I made it to the salary and level I'm at right now in such a short period of time, especially since most people never even make it to six figures. I feel nothing though. There are people where I'm at right now who have information that is beyond me. I can tell when we have high level academic discussions about architecture and software patterns that I am not still not at their level. It's only a matter of time though before I take on everything they know like I have at every other place I've been. Over the past year and a half I switched jobs 4 times, each time soaking up all the information they had in a matter of months and then moving on like a locust to the next one.

That's coming to an end though, both from a salary stand point and information stand point. Everything is finite, and I have reached the limit. There will always be things to learn in software development, but the law of diminishing returns is setting in. I estimate I have about 6 months left before I will be simply putting in my time each day and picking up my paycheck. I know lots of people who are in that mode, and they're perfectly happy with what they make and do. For me though, I have to be moving forward every day or my whole world falls apart. There is nowhere left to move up to at my years of experience. I am in a situation right now where all i can really do is just sit and wait for the years to go by. No amount of skill or knowledge is going to let me move forward at this point. The money is good where I work, but I hate the work I do.