Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New player, advice needed.

Greetings from France!

I've started to play SMAX recently and I have a few questions awaiting your answers that hopefully will help me get started, please remember that I barely understand the game's basics so I need detailed but simplistic explanations.

I've briefly tried all factions to figure that I'm a builder with the occasional desire to launch massive assaults.

Two factions have made a good impression on me: The Morganites and The Free Drones.

I can't seem to choose between these two as they seem very close if I ponder their respective pros and cons.

The Free Drones have a +2 bonus in Industry, now most people seem to think it's exceptional but I fail to see why. Sure, you can build faster ( anything is less expensive by 20% if I got that correctly ) but isn't that what Morganites do anyway by rushing production with their huge cash bonuses?

Anyway, with these two factions I have an edge over my enemies in terms of production and building infrastructures although the Morganites seem stronger because they can also bribe enemies, make loans, and produce incredible amounts of energy per square so it boosts their research too - I think - correct me if I'm wrong.

Now that we've established that, let's take a look at their flaws:

Free Drones:

First and oh boy... the research penalty! It seems so bad I can only see the Free Drones as a must-rush-to-war kind of faction, sort of like Miriam who has an offensive bonus but almost non-existent research abilities.

So building faster is nice, but building faster outdated units doesn't seem interesting though. I must be missing something because everyone seems to like the Free Drones and yet no one refers to them as a warlike faction that needs to attack ASAP to steal tech or die. I read they're builders.

But how can you turtle with such a crippling research disadvantage?