No announcement yet.

Turn-Based Fantasy 4X in Development, looking for testers and sparring partners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turn-Based Fantasy 4X in Development, looking for testers and sparring partners

Hi,

I am a developer, working on a turn-based fantasy 4x game. It doesn't really have a name yet, the working title is Warlords & Wizards, but I am bad at naming, and prefer to spend time working on making the game awesome, then I am sure a good name will come in time.

My background is as a programmer working in the games industry for a major development studio, and this is my little pet project I work on during my spare time. It is starting to reach a state where it is playable, so I am reaching out for people to help me test it, and give me feedback and ideas on the design and content.

The goal is to create a game with a scope, scale and depth beyond what has previously been done in this genre. My inspiration is drawn from games like Master of Magic, Master of Orion, Fall From Heaven, Dominion, Europa Universalis, and Dwarf Fortress. Sadly turn-based fantasy games with an epic scale are a rarity these days. Most games released are simplistic and/or focused on tactical combat. So I set out to create a game that I myself would love to play.

The feature set I am planning for the initial release:
    * Turn-based 4x fantasy strategy game.
    * Randomly generated worlds, with randomly generated races, cultures, pantheons and organizations.
    * Different games modes. You can play as a warlord bent on conquest and empire building, a wizard with enigmatic goals or as a demigod trying to ascend to godhood.
    * Research spells and rituals in wizard mode.
    * As a warlord you research cultural and military advances, guiding the progress of your people so your armies grow mighty enough to conquer the world.
    * As a demigod as you gain followers you can transform the world and its inhabitants.