Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: SMAX unofficial patch PLUS

  1. #1
    kyrub
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2011
    Posts
    46
    Country
    This is kyrub's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 29, 2014
    Local Time
    00:39

    SMAX unofficial patch PLUS

    The SMAX Unofficial patch PLUS includes latest Scient's Unofficial patch for SMAX (see http://www.civgaming.net/forums/showthread.php?t=7511) and it adds several bug fixes on top (see release notes below).

    Download: SMAX unofficial patch PLUS

    I finally found some time and ported a few fixes (from my previous work on SMAC) to SMAX, as I promised.
    The highlight is the fixing of the infamous energy stockpile bug and of the children creche (and brood pit) combat bonus bug. I decided to include the better terraforming algorithm from smac patch as well. The old terraforming is not exactly a bug per se, but the AI behaves so stupidly, that I simply felt obliged to do the hard work of transmitting a whole part of the code in SMAX as well.

    The patch could not be tested (I have not a working copy of SMAX on my hard drive), but it should work allright. Still, a backup of your data is recommended. Unzip the patch into your SMAX directory, overwrite - and enjoy.

    ------
    release notes

    version a
    - unit limit, changed by scient, is back (crashed the game)
    - automatic energy stockpiling bug is fixed
    - swapbase bug, which made the AI swap bases in a ridiculously bad deals
    - AI basic terraforming (and automated basic terraforming) completely rebuilt, should be more competent
    - children creche, brood pit combat bonuses now work like they should
    Last edited by kyrub; November 19, 2011 at 13:47.

  2. #2
    Lord Avalon
    Emperor Lord Avalon's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Nov 2005
    Location
    Dpolyton?
    Posts
    4,476
    Country
    This is Lord Avalon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    17:39
    Hi, kyrub, do you have another link? I got the following error message in Firefox:
    Firefox doesn't know how to open this address, because the protocol (download) isn't associated with any program.
    In Chrome another tab opened, but nothing else happened.
    Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. - Ben Franklin
    Iain Banks missed deadline due to Civ | The eyes are the groin of the head. - Dwight Schrute.
    One more turn .... One more turn .... | WWTSD

  3. #3
    kyrub
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2011
    Posts
    46
    Country
    This is kyrub's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 29, 2014
    Local Time
    00:39
    Oh, sorry.
    Link fixed.

  4. #4
    Lord Avalon
    Emperor Lord Avalon's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Nov 2005
    Location
    Dpolyton?
    Posts
    4,476
    Country
    This is Lord Avalon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    17:39
    That worked. Don't know if I'll get around to trying it today, though.
    Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. - Ben Franklin
    Iain Banks missed deadline due to Civ | The eyes are the groin of the head. - Dwight Schrute.
    One more turn .... One more turn .... | WWTSD

  5. #5
    Martin Gühmann
    Administrator Martin Gühmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    02 Mar 2001
    Location
    Tübingen, Germany
    Posts
    7,254
    Country
    This is Martin Gühmann's Country Flag
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    23:39
    SMAX unofficial patch PLUS can now be downloaded from Apolyton. kyrub if you wanna update your file just edit the entry, update the description and upload a new file. It will become immediately public.

    -Martin
    Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"

  6. #6
    kittenOFchaos
    King kittenOFchaos's Avatar
    Join Date
    30 May 2001
    Location
    Gidea Park, Essex
    Posts
    1,666
    Country
    This is kittenOFchaos's Country Flag
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    22:39
    Kyrub, don't forget that the unofficial SMAC patch could also do with abit more love

  7. #7
    Droom
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver.ca
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:39
    Re: Probe Skimship Bug

    Hi Everyone,

    10 year lurker. 1st post-better late than never.

    Kyrub, just wanted to thank you for continuing work on the SMAX bugs. Its really appreciated.

    I got a bug that I don't recall hearing about before and I can't seem to find the current bug list. So, sorry if you're already aware of it and if I've posted it in the wrong thread.

    I had a probe skimship within the pirates territory and 1 of their cruisers sent me home. However, the skimship ended up in a land-locked base. The base isn't the closest, has never been a sea base, and so of course is not the home base. The home base which built the skimship still exists and is the closest sea base to where the skimship was intercepted.

    As I'm on a fairly small island, I'm using these a lot. Anyone have any suggestions so that this doesn't repeat?

  8. #8
    Lord Avalon
    Emperor Lord Avalon's Avatar
    Join Date
    03 Nov 2005
    Location
    Dpolyton?
    Posts
    4,476
    Country
    This is Lord Avalon's Country Flag
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    17:39
    I imagine there can be a check for a colony being a naval base, but how do you check if it has access to open water? You still might end up with a probe ship on a lake.
    Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety. - Ben Franklin
    Iain Banks missed deadline due to Civ | The eyes are the groin of the head. - Dwight Schrute.
    One more turn .... One more turn .... | WWTSD

  9. #9
    Droom
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver.ca
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:39
    Thanks for the reply. Maybe I should have used the term "naval" or "coastal" base rather than sea base. It is on a river but no lake. Here's a screenshot.Probe Skimship.jpg
    Last edited by Droom; December 4, 2011 at 16:29. Reason: Clarification

  10. #10
    Droom
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver.ca
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:39
    Just to add: I have the naval academy so all bases have a naval yard. However, in this base as well as other landlocked, I'm unable to build sea units.

  11. #11
    kyrub
    Chieftain
    Join Date
    17 Feb 2011
    Posts
    46
    Country
    This is kyrub's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Local Date
    November 29, 2014
    Local Time
    00:39
    My blind guess is that the game checks for naval yard instead of water proximity. So naval academy is the source of bug - could you test the same situation without Naval academy?

  12. #12
    Droom
    Settler
    Join Date
    03 Feb 2002
    Location
    Vancouver.ca
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:39
    Hi kyrub,

    Thanks for the reply.

    Using the SE:
    1. I removed the Maritime Control Center so no Naval Yards. The probe skimship still went to the landlocked base (I'm going to call it "03").
    2. Added a Naval Yard to the closest coastal base. It still went to 03.
    3. Deleted 03. It ignored the base with the Naval Yard and went to another coastal base with no Yard (Not the closest, BTW).
    4. Gave 03 to the Drones with whom I have a pact. It went to the same coastal base as above.

    So I can only conclude that the Naval Yard doesn't seem to be a factor.

    I always thought that a captured probe was supposed to be returned to the closest base. This doesn't seem to be the case.

    I wish I could find out if this bug has been documented, and if so, where? If not, where do I report it?

    Anyway, thanks for looking into it.

    Here are before and after saves.Probe Skimship Bug.zip
    Last edited by Droom; December 9, 2011 at 20:18.

  13. #13
    Nwabudike Acolyte
    Settler
    Join Date
    11 Jun 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    17:39

    Patch seems to be Windows only. Is there a Mac version of the patches?

    The patch appears to be for the Windows version of the game. Is that true? If so, is there a Mac version somewhere?

  14. #14
    Petek
    King Petek's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    1,096
    Country
    This is Petek's Country Flag
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Local Date
    November 28, 2014
    Local Time
    15:39
    Quote Originally Posted by Nwabudike Acolyte View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    The patch appears to be for the Windows version of the game. Is that true? If so, is there a Mac version somewhere?
    None of the unofficial patches have been ported to Mac versions. AFAIK, there are no plans to do so.
    "The avalanche has already started. It is too late for the pebbles to vote."
    -- Kosh

Similar Threads

  1. Unofficial BtS 3.17 patch
    By Solver in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: June 7, 2009, 10:14
  2. Civ4 Col: Unofficial bug-fix patch
    By Dale in forum Civilization IV: Colonization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 12, 2009, 07:28
  3. A few questions about the unofficial 3.17 BTS patch
    By snafuc4 in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 13, 2008, 13:03
  4. Unofficial BTS 3.13 patch
    By Bhruic in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 112
    Last Post: June 15, 2008, 17:00
  5. BtS unofficial patch
    By Solver in forum Civilization IV General
    Replies: 418
    Last Post: October 2, 2007, 17:29

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions