Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modification of Civ IV for educational research

Hi everyone,
    I am a teacher of social studies in Nunavut, which is in Arctic Canada. I am currently pursuing my masters thesis and will be doing research utilizing Civ 4 in a classroom of entirely Inuit students. The problem is that I would like to modify the perameters of the game and I am not at all familiar with modding. I would very much appreciate any help the expert modders on this page could offer me. If anyone has any interest in helping me out with this project, please let me know.

Can you expand on that. What would you like to modify?
    Some basic changes, to a particular game, can be made in Worldbuilder such as adding cities, units and resources as well as modifying the map tiles and starting techs for each civilisation.
    If you wish to make bigger changes to the game rules you will probably need to fiddle around with the Python scripting.

Comment

There's an in-between category of changes, also. Some things in WB (e.g., you can make a map of a specific historical region you want to show your class, complete with the appropriate cities or whatever). Then, some things you can do with a simple text editor in XML changes (you can edit unit class abilities / promotions etc.) Beyond that, Bd is correct you need to work in Python.

Comment

Hi,