Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Where should I apply to grad school (MS in CS) with this profile?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where should I apply to grad school (MS in CS) with this profile?

Finally applying this year. Couldn't do so last year due to a number of reasons, some person, some beyond my control.

I completed my undergraduate degree in Computer Engineering this year in June, and have been working full-time since July.

I'll be applying to a number of universities in the USA for an MS in CS, but I don't have any idea, being in India, of which places I should target given my profile. So I've come here asking for help, knowing that quite a few here have a good idea of what's going on in the academic scene.

The profile:

1) Academic Record: ~58% aggregate over 4 years. (I aced the practicals, the 'oral' examinations, and the internal evaluations, but I lost out in the written examinations due to my almost illegible handwriting. So the former three have an aggregate of ~90%, and the latter of ~50%, odd thought it may seem.) I don't really know how to convert this into a GPA, but a rough estimate would be a B+ average, consisting of A+ in the practicals, oral examinations, and internal evaluations, but B in the written examinations due to my handwriting.

2) GRE: 800/800/5.5

3) Subject GRE in Comp. Sci.: 850/900 (93rd percentile)

3b) This may not be relevant, but I had taken the GATE (Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering) this year, and an currently ranked 159th in the country (99.85th percentile overall among all exam-takers). This exam is conducted to serve as a basis for admission into Master's programs in engineering in India, but I had taken it merely to see where I stood in the competitive rankings. To be honest, I was a little surprised by the result - I had thought the competition would be tougher.