Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'll be damned, twice!

Good morning everyone,

I Just got hit by 2 meteors in a single game, and I'm shocked. Never since I started playing the game did I get hit by one, and it 's been many years. Is it an alien perk, to have 4 or 5 bases destroyed at random, or could have anything to do with the large number of bases (150+)?

I'll continue the game, keep expanding, perhaps I can trigger another strike?

In any event, I think it's a cool thing, too bad I've never had one before. Maybe one of the cpus will get struck next time

since they are so rare, meteor strikes are poorly documented.
    If you could confirm the crater and kill radius - i'd love to add this info to the datalinks (see sig)
    Into Alien Crossfire? It has been almost 10 years. Time to update your datalinks.
    Try out my Comprehensive Datalinks Update. Now v1.3!

Comment

I'll make another game, which I'll save every turn, perhaps I'll get lucky.

A good way to evoke a meteor strike seems to be to play a large map
      (70+ x 140+) with 80-90% land, and go for a lot of bases. Over the course of about 10 games (some on small (20x30) maps), I've had 2 games with 2 strikes, 1 with a single one. Blast radius is hard to determine, I'd say a strike takes out about the size of the remaining garland crater, including its outer limits, it eradicates all cities in it.

Comment

Have not been able to reproduce a meteor strike, guess I jinxed myself... Sorry

Comment

Jinxed twice too. After about 30 games I gave up hope for another meteor, made the previous post, then got hit twice in the very next game I played.