Two victories, which do you prefer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two victories, which do you prefer?

I started playing marathon (1500 turn) games, and my first two wins were rather different and left me different feelings.

The first one I had a good start, made the right strategic decisions early and won a domination victory just before turn 800. In a sense I felt I had won too easy, so even though my score was a record for me, it didn't feel as satisfying.

The second one my starting location wasn't quite as good, made an iffy decision, but managed to grab a cultural victory before India launched their spaceship, around turn 1300. More work was involved in pulling off the win so it felt more satisfying even though the score was one of my lowest.

(I know the score is somewhat arbitrary, even for comparison purposes, but I included the note of their relative high and low merely as an indicator.)

So what type of wins to people prefer, the quick crushing defeats of all who oppose your rightful rule or the longer hard fought victory against opposition that put up a good fight?
    Rule 37: "There is no 'overkill'. There is only 'open fire' and 'I need to reload'."
    http://www.schlockmercenary.com/ 23 Feb 2004

Yeah, the "easy" wins are not as satisfying as the hard ones. So once I get to where I don't fear for my life, I try to hold myself back a bit to preclude a boring end-game. An easy game is not NEARLY as much fun as a nail biter!

Comment

The score algorithm is worthless. It places too much emphasis on things such as turn won, which biases certain strategies over others. The measure is supposed to be of skill, not how fast you won or whatever.

Comment

Yeah, I see the score when I win, but I doubt I could recall any of them. So yes, I put no value in the score.