Barbarian invasions and history repeating itself

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Barbarian invasions and history repeating itself

Perhaps a non PC thread. Hey, no one likes to be called a barbarian. . My theories may be way off base, I am by no means an expert. Just some ideas running around my head.

I think it is only human nature of people to migrate to areas of better economic opportunities. One cannot fault them for that. The question is, can any parallels be drawn from the massive migration today to that of the barbarians into roman lands in the middle ages?

here's a quote from wiki:

Until recently it has been common to speak of "barbarian invasions" sweeping in from beyond Imperial borders and bringing about the end of the Roman Empire. Modern historians now acknowledge that this presents an incomplete portrait of a complex time of migration. In some important cases, such as that of the Franks entering Gaul, settlement of the newcomers took place over many decades, as groups seeking new economic opportunities crossed into Roman territory, retaining their own tribal leadership, and acculturating to, or displacing the Gallo-Roman society, often without widespread violence. This migration of the barbarians into the Roman empire took place over such a long period of time that, the Romans did not even perceive them as a threat. By speaking of this time as a time of "Barbarian invasions," it implies that it was an organized attack, which it certainly was not. Other outsiders, like Theodoric of the Ostrogoths, although warlike, also saw themselves as successors to the Roman tradition, employing cultured Roman ministers, like Cassiodorus. Like the Goths, the Franks and the Burgundians many of the outsiders were foederati, military allies of the Empire, who had earned rights of settlement.